We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price value ok”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #5 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The location of the Guest house is perfect near to downtown, easy 10 minutes walking distance to the city's restaurants and shops and 5 minutes to the Mekong River.

Rooms are very clean and furnished with wooden furniture well presented.
The cloth rail in the wardrobe is unfortunately placed; it is difficult to hang your cloth side by side.
A hairdryer would be a good purchase!

Although the energy saving light bulbs in the room gives a warm atmosphere but you really have difficulties reading a book in bed. The bedside lamps should have at least 60Watt bulbs! The height of the bed is rather unusual and the pillows are far too small.
An incentive would be a flask of hot water or electric kettle and two cups with herbal tea or coffee placed in the room which would definitely ad a lovely touch.

The bathroom like most guesthouse bathrooms have no hooks or rails to hang your towels. The shower is has a great water pressure and even the warm water works well unlike other guesthouses. Some people would probably appreciate separate hand held shower heads. The shampoo and soap is rather basic, I believe it is not expensive to have them in nice containers, as refills.

I did not check if there is a free computer station with internet access for clients but I highly appreciated the Wi Fi which works well, despite the many connection wlan network names available.

The breakfast variation we had where rather basic a choice of fresh fruits, homemade muesli & yogurts and better Tea would be fantastic. Laos coffee is not everyone’s taste.

Overall this was a good place we stayed at. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Vientiane.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 569 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2009

We took two rooms at this hotel, one for my teenage sons and one for my husband, myself and my young son. It's situated at the edge of the town centre and although the road is quite busy we weren't disturbed by the noise of traffic.

The rooms were clean, large and comfortable and all the appliances were modern and worked well. There was either wireless or cable internet access in both rooms, included in the price. At times this was slow or cut out altogether, although I'm not sure if that was just the quality of access in Laos.

Breakfast was well made and generous, with a choice of things to have including Asian breakfast. The staff were very courteous and the reception staff spoke good English. We also used the very good value laundry service and were pleased with the results.

I would highly recommend this hotel. The only thing I would say is that our room was at the top of about four flights of stairs so you would need to specify a 1st floor room if this might be a problem for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanuthead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Newly bulit but with a traditional regenerated feel to the place this hotel offers a charming stay in the Laos capital. Dark wood and white walls make this place feel hip and modern but old-worldy at the same time. The rooms are large and clean with lovely wooden floors. The rooms feature aircon, a TV and a fridge. Breakfast is nice and the Laos coffee superb. For 30 dollars a night what you get is a high quality small hotel. No smoking in the rooms - ha!

The location is right near the center, just a short walk from the mighty Mekong.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planetkimchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I had an excellent stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and service-minded. The Continental breakfast was great - I really miss the fruitsalads and the Lao yoghurt. The Swedish pancakes is also a most. The hotel is excellently located just a few steps from the river and close to shops and restaurants. The rooms are quiet, clean and modern and decorated in very tasteful Lao style.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMLStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

A lovely, clean, stylish hotel with helpful, friendly staff and an owner who went out of his way to help me when I needed it.
The rooms (and apartments) are spacious, great beds with firm (but not hard) mattresses and crisp linen. My ensuite bathroom had a powerful wet room style shower but plenty of room so the rest of the bathroom didnt get wet. It was all spotlessly clean, with a fridge, tele including English and French channels, air-con and fan.
The breakfast was great - lots of options from Lao style, bacon and eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, yoghurts and croissant.
There is also free internet access.
The location is good - just a few seconds walk to the river with its food-stalls, and it's also close to one of the best restaurants I ate in while I was there (Mak Phet).
But most of all the consistently friendly and helpful staff were what made my stay there particularly enjoyable, and as I say, they went out of their way to help me when I encountered some difficulties.
My fellow guests were a mixture of aid workers, business men and women and holiday-makers. This place is not a backpacker/party place, but I found the atmosphere very laid-back and gently sociable: even though I was on my own, it was easy to have a chat or find company for dinner.
This hotel is really good value, and spotlessly clean but it's the staff who really make it a great place to stay. I've put the contacts on here because I don't think there is a website yet.
email: [--]

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: préférer les étages élevés (sans ascenseur toutefois)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lani's House By The Ponds
Lani's House By The Ponds
#4 of 201 in Vientiane
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $30 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing