We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy place”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #3 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“classy place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very tasteful rooms and solid service. Just outside the more backpacker feeling area, but really not an issue. Nice breakfast. If you are willing to pay their rates you will get a very spacious, clean, and well appointed room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank class4plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    205
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
50
246
101
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this charming hotel. We were in loft suite which was perfect for our family of 4. Great staff, breakfast was wonderful and it's located very close to many great restaurants and sights in the city. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed with our family of four in one of the loft rooms with a mezzanine. Lovely room, though winding staircase was a little precarious for our 5 & 6 year old boys. Breakfast options were very good. We were very pleased if not the best value at $90 a night, but then after Cambodia we did find Laos expensive overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and really enjoyed it! The staff are very nice, the rooms are clean and very spacious with a small kitchenette and a great shower.

Breakfast was very good with about 8 different choices for food and many different drink options. The wifi was the fastest we have had in SE Asia and was full signal in our room and in common areas.

The location is good - you can walk to the river/night market in just a couple minutes.

The price was a bit higher than our normal budget, but if it is within your price range I would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location of this hotel is very central. There is free wireless in the hotel lobby which is very reliable. Unfortunately, the rooms do not have a hair dryer but one is available to borrow on request. The breakfast is cooked to order and delicious, a really nice selection to suit all tastes. The hotel offers a reasonably priced taxi pick up from and to the airport. Make sure you change some dollars for local currency on arrival, dollars are not widely acceptable.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have heavy bags ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotterSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. It's decor is chic and charming. Tiny little touches everywhere you keep spotting that made me love this hotel. It's nicely situated and close to highly recommended restaurants which is good as seems that wandering the streets and eating is all you can really do in vientiane . It's a beautiful city though. And staying at hotel khamvongsa makes it even better. Rooms have everything you need and the staff were really friendly and helpful (despite limited English) . As with the other reviews...great breakfast options. I had guatamalen farmer breakfast and bf had waffles with cream and jam. Also had a banana smoothie which was yum. Really good value. Only negative was that bed was hard (but haven't found a soft one in south east Asia yet). You will miss out on a great experience if you don't stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsten r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is ok. It is clean and the staff are solid and make a genuine effort to answer all queries. The breakfast serves well enough. The hot water, real hot water - not one of those mini water heaters on the shower wall, always runs. The air con works.
It a about two locks away from the main three streets where the bulk of the eats, drinks and other traveller services are. That is ok too as you will get a nice quiet sleep. So as far as value for money goes it returns well. But all that is expected. There is nothing here that is outstanding. If you want a safe solid base to work from and really just want to crash here at night then this hotel will serve well enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Property: Hotel Khamvongsa
Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing