We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel; I'd surely be back”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #4 of 200 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very nice building; elegant , spacious, very clean and quiet rooms with good beds. There is a safe. The breakfast is poor. The hotel is well situated near many good restarants and shops, but in a quiet street. A very good price for a high quality.

Room Tip: I had a room at a high floor, and it was quiet
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Khamvongsa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 569 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

After reading general reviews of hotels in Laos, I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Khamvongsa hotel. I think it's pretty new and it is just beautiful hotel in the middle of Vientiane. The rooms were clean, modern, and very tastefully decorated. First thing i look at is the bathroom and it was like new. But the staff in here was not helfl so much. It was the first time ever in my life that in request for some assistance the hotel managers responded they won’t do anything because “we are busy here!”. I had to be a bit pushy to finally get some simple help.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank drdeath88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Solid choice. Good location, very clean, good breakfast, decent WiFi if you need it, and the price is quite reasonable given all that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastboundcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Mattress was the usual ironing board and bed frame squeeked badly.
Apart from this the room was large and comfortable.
Breakfast good and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Khamvongsa is well maintained and well placed a retains a little bit of the 'old world' feel in its decor and design (including the five sets of stairs to the top floor rooms - a good work out). The loft rooms are good value - with a huge room with mezzanine, small kitchenette, and living area. However, if you like rooms which can keep out the dawn light - we found the lack of any effective curtains meant we were all waking up with the sun. Breakfast is excellent and staff were generally very helpful, in particular the two women who often worked at reception were very knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LagiJalanJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

A local friend recommended this hotel, and together with the #1 spot on Tripadvisor, we were keen to stay at the Khamvongsa Hotel. Alas, it was fully booked for the first few nights of our stay in Vientiane. We got a room for the last two nights, and how happy we were. All other reviewers essentially say what we experienced as well: Room, breakfast, design, WiFi, staff, location - all great!

Let's hope they keep their incredibly high standards at these rates, and open a hotel in New York!

Room Tip: all are spacious and well-designed / equipped
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLikeLocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great hotel in the middle of Vientiane with lovely staff and spacious rooms. We stayed 5 nights and thought the value was great. The rooms were huge for the price with everything we needed.

The breakfast was really good with 4 selections and great lao coffee to start the day. They sorted tuk tuks when necessary for you, were informative of the city and what to do and always smiled. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andynnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#27 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $30 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing