We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat business hotel”
Review of City Inn Vientiane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Inn Vientiane
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neat business hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My company sometimes book me here when I'm in VTE on company business. Neat and fussy. Everything is in its place with comfortable appointments. The room designs are simple yet thoughtful. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in the US60 range.

I have stayed here about 10 nights this year and nary a complaint.

Room Tip: Although all the rooms are of the same design and space, and thus the same price, go for the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sychowlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    190
    72
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
85
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

City Inn Hotel is next to a few other hotels in a central location, and within walking distance to the riverside and many tourist attractions. The room is quite good for a three star hotel except that the cement flooring seems a bit out of character. The lobby is fairly small. Breakfast served at the coffee house was adequate. The area around the hotel is fairly quiet. You need to go to the riverside for some actions. Overall, its quiet a nice hotel and not too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The room & bathroom was spacious and claen ! Breakfast was good - have to ask for your eggs (done separately topped off with some ham & sausages too! ) For this price it was well worth it - the Manager from India at the Front desk was very helpful , speaks excellent English . One tip - you can hire any tuk tuk ( US$ 10 per hour ) to take you to all the famous sites - no need to take the expensive ( US$ 60 per day by the Hotel .) Airport transfers are fixed at US$ 7 per way ( about 4 persons max. all at once - big savings to share .)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is a very good standard for a 3 star city hotel.  The breakfast was much better than expected, good variety.  The room was a reasonable size, it is a bit dated, especially the bathroom.  The bathroom was however quite large and included a separate bath and shower.  The taps in the shower seemed to have a mind of their own but we managed to work it out.  I didn't go too much on the polished concrete floor.  The location is convenient, being an easy walk to many of the tourist sights and the main entertainment district. Free wifi was available and worked well in the room

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
157 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The rooms in CIty Inn Vientiane are quite big. The floor is cement, but the room is not ugly in any way. The hotel is well-maintained and clean. In Vientiane, many service staff do not speak good English, but at City Inn, the manager is from India, and he can handle queries well. Breakfast is fine. Overall, a very economical hotel, close to Lao Plaza hotel and several restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

At USD 67, per night, it was very good value and I'll be staying there again the next time I'm in Vientiane. The Hotel is new with a modern look about it and the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast, and free wifi, was included in the price. The standard of the hotel was probably what you’d expect for about 3000 Baht in Thailand. The staff were very helpful and arranged a motorbike rental and bus ticketing onward to Veng Vien for me. The city Inn, for those interested, is located near Lao Plaza Hotel in a quieter area away from the main tourist area which is towards the river front.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEGA-ASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only stayed for one night in this hotel as we were flying in to Hanoi the next day. The room we were given was very large with a comfortable bed, cable TV, huge bathroom and all the usual amenities. You could easily walk down to the river and eat at one of the riverside restaurants. I would have scored this hotel higher except for the fact that two things let them down: 1. Breakfast - it looks ok but really pretty average once you are eating it. 2. We made a reverse charge call to Australia for a travel insurance claim and when we checked out the hotel wanted to charge us for the call (about $6US). We told them and showed them the paperwork that it was a reverse call and that the company inAustralia pays for it but the man in reception refused us and insisted we pay it. We were pretty disgruntled about it and eventually paid the amount but unfortunately the hotel left a bad impression by doing this as we checked out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessvanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWadhwani, Owner at City Inn Vientiane, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Sir:

I am sorry that your stay with us had to end on a sour note.

Telecom companies in Laos do not allow toll free numbers. So when an international number is dialled, charges are incurred. That is why you were charged.

We believe that even one disgruntled customer is one too many. I cannot change what happened but let me make it up to you by offering a free airport pick-up whenever you stay with us next time. You can transfer this offer to your friend in case you have no immediate plans of visiting Vientiane.

Please contact me directly at md@cityinnvientiane.com if I can be of any assistance.
Warmest regards
Manu Wadhwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Vientiane

Property: City Inn Vientiane
Address: Rue Pangkham | Near Vientiane Culture Hall, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Vientiane 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Vientiane captures a perfect blend of modern design and Asian culture. Centrally located, the City Inn Vientiane makes it easy to visit all that Vientiane has to offer. At City Inn Vientiane, we pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and we strive to meet the needs of every guest. Our homely accommodation creates a perfect ambiance and is sure to make your stay in Vientiane a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Inn Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Vientiane Hotel Vientiane
City Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing