We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very economical place to stay”
Review of City Inn Vientiane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Inn Vientiane
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The rooms in CIty Inn Vientiane are quite big. The floor is cement, but the room is not ugly in any way. The hotel is well-maintained and clean. In Vientiane, many service staff do not speak good English, but at City Inn, the manager is from India, and he can handle queries well. Breakfast is fine. Overall, a very economical hotel, close to Lao Plaza hotel and several restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

At USD 67, per night, it was very good value and I'll be staying there again the next time I'm in Vientiane. The Hotel is new with a modern look about it and the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast, and free wifi, was included in the price. The standard of the hotel was probably what you’d expect for about 3000 Baht in Thailand. The staff were very helpful and arranged a motorbike rental and bus ticketing onward to Veng Vien for me. The city Inn, for those interested, is located near Lao Plaza Hotel in a quieter area away from the main tourist area which is towards the river front.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEGA-ASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only stayed for one night in this hotel as we were flying in to Hanoi the next day. The room we were given was very large with a comfortable bed, cable TV, huge bathroom and all the usual amenities. You could easily walk down to the river and eat at one of the riverside restaurants. I would have scored this hotel higher except for the fact that two things let them down: 1. Breakfast - it looks ok but really pretty average once you are eating it. 2. We made a reverse charge call to Australia for a travel insurance claim and when we checked out the hotel wanted to charge us for the call (about $6US). We told them and showed them the paperwork that it was a reverse call and that the company inAustralia pays for it but the man in reception refused us and insisted we pay it. We were pretty disgruntled about it and eventually paid the amount but unfortunately the hotel left a bad impression by doing this as we checked out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessvanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWadhwani, Owner at City Inn Vientiane, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Sir:

I am sorry that your stay with us had to end on a sour note.

Telecom companies in Laos do not allow toll free numbers. So when an international number is dialled, charges are incurred. That is why you were charged.

We believe that even one disgruntled customer is one too many. I cannot change what happened but let me make it up to you by offering a free airport pick-up whenever you stay with us next time. You can transfer this offer to your friend in case you have no immediate plans of visiting Vientiane.

Please contact me directly at md@cityinnvientiane.com if I can be of any assistance.
Warmest regards
Manu Wadhwani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had a very good overall experience here. The manager and staff were very helpful throughout. Restaurant serves mostly Lao food, but that was OK with me. The buffet breakfast, included in the rate, was very good, freshly cooked eggs and freshly made coffee. A good, central location, walkable to most tourist venues. The suit I was given was quite spacious. A straight forward hotel, with out a lot of frills.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taragsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

It is a very simple hotel, we choose the suite room, with a simple decoration, but very comfortable with all the expected facilities. Wireless internet and the breakfast are included in room rate. The staff is absolutely friendly, always available to attend all requests. The breakfast is a great way to start the day with excellent staff. We will definitely be staying here when we return and we can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 238Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at this central hotel which is in a good location. Prior to our arrival I had emailed with a few questions about local banks etc., and we were answered efficiently. We were met at the airport by the hotel car with no problem. The suite was large, clean and situated on the first floor in the front corner of the hotel. The balcony was disappointing in that it wasn’t quite large enough to accommodate any outdoor furniture but it was nice to be able to step outside the room and watch the street below. The floor of the suite was polished concrete and would have benefited from a couple of rugs. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the hotel was fine, but we only had one evening meal which we ate in the informal area outside the hotel. During our meal a couple of children pestered us for money, but after a while one of the hotel staff amusingly chased the second child off with a feather duster!

We do have a criticism of the hotel. On its website and in literature it claims to be ‘luxurious’ and possibly by local standards it is. However, we found the accommodation too spartan and lacking in detail to fulfil that claim, particularly the bathroom (i.e. a face cloth and better quality towels would have been nice. It was good to have a bathrobe, but they looked worn and old round the neckline). The blinds were damaged and the shower could have been a little cleaner. We would describe the professional photographs of the hotel as ‘generous’.
Overall it is a very good hotel for a short holiday in central Vientiane and we would recommend it. We would return again, it was just that we were looking for a small luxurious hotel to celebrate a special occasion.

Room Tip: Our suite at the front enabled us to step on the balcony and watch the activity below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Computermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

we were given a HUGE suite(rather a waste as we were only there one night).bathroom was luxurious and room immaculate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priscillaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 95 in Vientiane
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 95 in Vientiane
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#5 of 95 in Vientiane
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 95 in Vientiane
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Vientiane

Address: Rue Pangkham | Near Vientiane Culture Hall, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $52 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Vientiane 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Vientiane captures a perfect blend of modern design and Asian culture. Centrally located, the City Inn Vientiane makes it easy to visit all that Vientiane has to offer. At City Inn Vientiane, we pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and we strive to meet the needs of every guest. Our homely accommodation creates a perfect ambiance and is sure to make your stay in Vientiane a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Inn Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Vientiane Hotel Vientiane
City Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing