We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, disinterested staff”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Avalon is a beautiful hotel in a great location only 10 min. from the fountain & 15 min. from the Mekong. Beds are comfy & the bathrooms are amazing. Very good included breakfast. Unfortunately, the reception staff are dis-interested & unhelpful. But I still had a good night's sleep & a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so you have a view out your window, otherwise you'll be looking at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

I found the staff not helpful at all. The room was clean and small. The air con worked great. Cable and wifi were good. Showers were cold. Location was o.k. You had to cross 2 busy streets to get to main area. Vientiane has not been my favorite part of this trip. If had a re-do, I would skip vientiene and spend more time in luang Prabang. If you do go, check out Buddha park (40 dollar taxi) and le bodega (listed as le Carmege in lp book). Amazing food!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be really good - its in a decent location, has nice furnishings, separate shower and toilet, nice looking rooms.... BUT: The internet did not work in our bedroom, the TV signal was terrible and it only had 3 channels (all Chinese), and the reception staff were really quite rude and dismissive. All of that being said, it was clean and the breakfast was good, the breakfast staff were nice and the rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackdawjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night and thank goodness for that! At first I was very pleased with this hotel. Each room was named after a flower,ours was called Tulip, the staff we were greeted by were welcoming andit appeared to be good value. We got in the tiny lift and went into our room!

Now, the first thing was that I found black hairs on my towel that I had to pick off! Then when I got into bed there was a tissue in my bed from a previous person or the cleaner I am not sure! At this point, I was of the opinion that these things happen.However, then I noticed a bug on the head rest and tried to knock it off. Again, I thought I am in Laos and off course there will be insects. However, then more insects started to crawl out of the crack in the head board, It was obvious that the bugs ( like earwigs) were living the head rest! I tried to sleep on the chair but this was far too uncomfortable. After a while, as I hate complaining, I decided to go downstairs and let a member off staff know about the bugs crawling all over the bed. This particular member of staff looked at me and laughed at me, told me there were no more rooms. There was noting he could do! He didn't offer tol ook or apologise, he just laughed at me! I never write negative reviews but I think the attitude in this hotel was despicable and for S.E.Asia this hotel is not good value for money and quite expensive!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waterfalls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The clean bedroom was a welcome respite after flying 12 time zones. AC took a little while to ramp up, but definitely keeps the temperatures down. All rooms were named after flowers. Only gripe is that the elevator opens to the front doors of hotel on the ground floor... just bad feng shui. It is walking distance to everything within old town center.

Room Tip: Close the windows to keep mosquitoes and heat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

One often reads that Vientiane boast good hotels at moderate prices- well, the Avalon does not meet this description.To be sure to have a comfortable room, our travel agent suggested a suite. This "suite" was furnished in a very odd manner, with an old fridge and a brand new bath tub in the middle of a large room. The chairs were covered up to disguise disgustingly stained upholstrery, but the really bad experience started when we tried to get some sleep in the bed. The madrass was incredibly hard, and one could feel the springs as sharp pins in the back. We were able to get an extra blanket to cover the madrass, and in that way managed to relax a little.The room was at the top floor, so we walked down, but found the courage to take the tiny lift going up. We had to be quick in getting in when carrying bags, because the door shut so quickly, I got stuck the first night. I think this was my worst hotel experience ever, and my memories of Vientiane are (unjustly) influenced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedenBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Avalon Hotel was definitely when of the nicer hotels I stayed in while doing a tour of SE Asia. The room was comfortable and more importantly clean and the location was convenient. The staff were reasonable helpful although I really didnt have too much interaction from them. Based on my experience I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The lift is tiny so if you suffer from claustraphobia at all, avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#17 of 93 in Vientiane
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#52 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Lao Silk Hotel
New Lao Silk Hotel
#45 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
SNK Hotel
SNK Hotel
#59 of 93 in Vientiane
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Family Boutique Hotel
Family Boutique Hotel
#26 of 93 in Vientiane
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 070 Rue Phnom Pen Unit 8 | Ban Anou Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $26 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing