We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pretentious. Very down to earth and extremely pleasant staff.”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Not pretentious. Very down to earth and extremely pleasant staff.”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The clean bedroom was a welcome respite after flying 12 time zones. AC took a little while to ramp up, but definitely keeps the temperatures down. All rooms were named after flowers. Only gripe is that the elevator opens to the front doors of hotel on the ground floor... just bad feng shui. It is walking distance to everything within old town center.

Room Tip: Close the windows to keep mosquitoes and heat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    71
    54
    21
    8
See reviews for
7
57
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

One often reads that Vientiane boast good hotels at moderate prices- well, the Avalon does not meet this description.To be sure to have a comfortable room, our travel agent suggested a suite. This "suite" was furnished in a very odd manner, with an old fridge and a brand new bath tub in the middle of a large room. The chairs were covered up to disguise disgustingly stained upholstrery, but the really bad experience started when we tried to get some sleep in the bed. The madrass was incredibly hard, and one could feel the springs as sharp pins in the back. We were able to get an extra blanket to cover the madrass, and in that way managed to relax a little.The room was at the top floor, so we walked down, but found the courage to take the tiny lift going up. We had to be quick in getting in when carrying bags, because the door shut so quickly, I got stuck the first night. I think this was my worst hotel experience ever, and my memories of Vientiane are (unjustly) influenced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Avalon Hotel was definitely when of the nicer hotels I stayed in while doing a tour of SE Asia. The room was comfortable and more importantly clean and the location was convenient. The staff were reasonable helpful although I really didnt have too much interaction from them. Based on my experience I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The lift is tiny so if you suffer from claustraphobia at all, avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

4/1 I got the 2nd floor "sakura room", after check-in in 5 mins I got allergy. So I asked to have the other room on 4/5 when I back to Vientiane, and then the lady said " ok" . But on 4/5 I check-in, they still gave me the same room, I can't believe it!! When I asked the staff to change the other room for, you know WHAT. The staff said " sorry , this is your room" , so I ASKED TO SPEAK TO THE MANAGER. They caledl to her, and then I still get the same answer " This is your room". I am so angry "HOW TERRIBLE THIS HOTEL IS". I am so tired after 8 hours driving from lpb. There is nothing I can say about this hotel because this hotel is less than a sand.

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei Chi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I booked a double room for $30 which was very well furnished with an excellent bathroom. The hotel was clean, modern and well run. The location is good in that there is an excellent travel agent just over the road and it's a short walk to cafes, restaurants and bars.

Later I booked a single at $15. This was a steal. OK it had no fridge and TV but again the room and bathroom wrre excellent. Breakfast was served on the front terrace and was the standard Lao fare of Omlette / Fried eggs with bread jam Fresh fruit etc.

When you come out of the hotel and turn right there is a barbers just down the road. AVOID at all Costs! He is a rip off merchant! I went in on a Sunday when the street was deserted. Great haircut, wash, the full works maybe 50,000 to 70,000 kips worth. I was charged 250,000 about $30. With 3 blokes suddenly appearing outside the shop to make sure I paid. The only rip off I have ever suffered in Laos. Not the fault of the hotel but be aware.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

A great hotel that's clean and nice staff, rooms are good with a decent sized shower! The location is 10 min walk to the riverfront but the streets around the hotel are very very dark at night, you may not want to walk back alone!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Located on Phnom Penh Road, a few blocks back from the Mekong River, the Avalon Hotel is conveniently located. Loads of restaurants, bars, shops, etc within pleasant walking distance. National Museum and Culture Hall within 5 minutes walk. Loads of tuktuks available for hire. Immediate neighbourhood is going through transition; building works started early across the back street.

Good, free wifi access in the lobby; did not receive a signal on the 4th floor.

The room was bright, pleasant and spotlessly clean. Complimentary bottles of water. Breakfast was curiously located on a small patio in the very front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#31 of 93 in Vientiane
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#35 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#17 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#32 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 070 Rue Phnom Pen Unit 8 | Ban Anou Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing