We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy cafe and good healthy food”
Review of YuLaLa - CLOSED

YuLaLa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Classy cafe and good healthy food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Yulala has been around for years and it shows in the level of comfort and service provided by this restaurant. The food at face value doesn't seem like anything out of this world but the dish presentation is tasteful, simple, and very good. The seasoning used is subtle and light. The cafe/restaurant is run by a Japanese couple and the husband has a pretty keen eye for adding small touches to his dishes which make it shine. Western/Japanese fusion tends to be very hit or miss but everything in this cafe is done with such a great love for food and attention for detail. A simple stir fried pork vegetable meat dish and cold tomato/cream cheese dish is wonderfully refreshing especially if you like healthy foods without a lot of heavy fat, oil, or salt added. The cafe itself is tastefully decorated and has a homey atmosphere like you're eating in someone's home. This place is a must visit in Vientiane and there are many dishes on offer which cater to both vegetarians and people with more conventional tastes. The deserts (especially the creamy cheese cake) is something that you won't find elsewhere in this city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bolognapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple and tasty”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Other than a cosy atmosphere (shoe's off and sitting on the floor) the place attracts you with the simplicity of the menu and the taste of the food. All that is for very affordable price and served professionally.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank armenicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Restaurant with Great Food!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The little blackboard out the front asking you to take your shoes off before entering is what catches your eye to start off with... when you slide open the door to Yulala feet exposed to the rugged pavement you are hit with a burst of coolness flowing subtly from the airconditioning, followed by the charming traditional Japenese decor. I had a surprisingly easy on the pallet house white, my partner equally enjoyed a glass of their house red. I had the chefs special number 2. (vegetable soup, pickled vegetables, chicken breast stuffed with eggplant and tomato with a mushroom sauce and salad) - did your tastebudes swell with curiosity then? As they should of, wow it was yum! My partner had a pork and egg dish which was chef special 1 and came with an array of side dishes too. All in all, a great experience, you owe it to yourself to give this little gem a try!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank clumsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Japanese never fails me”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I only spent 2 nights in vientiane and I went there twice. First time it was lunch, I walked along the Heng Boun, passed the book shop and some interesting local eateries until i found the sign for Yulala. Once I stepped in, I knew I made the right choice: the air changed, not just the temperature, but the atmosphere. The quiet little place was filled with great choice of cello music, I chose the chef special, and I was amazed. It was nice Japanese home cooking with the use of some very Laos flavour. The homemade ginger ale was a plus. I was too full to have dessert, so I went back the other night, happy to find the place filled with great Jazz, got myself a very nice House White, and the green tea chiffon cake. I must say, that made itself Top 3 chiffon cakes I've ever had (no. 1 in Tokyo, no. 2 in Kyoto, and this, no.3). Do pay a visit here, if you are looking for a quiet, cozy, tasty meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Vientiane, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Yulala is a welcome difference from most restaurants in Vientiane. The skill of the chef shows in each dish. The flavors are subtly blended, pure and in harmony. This is a deft skill that few restaurants here have the ability to pull off.

If you are looking for a robust, "best steak in Vientiane" type of place drowned in an indifferent sauce then avoid Yulala.
If you want to savor each bite of your dinner then YuLaLa is a rare find.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YuLaLa also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing