We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another french restaurant, hidden charm”
Review of Le Vendome

Le Vendome
Ranked #45 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
254 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Another french restaurant, hidden charm”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

It lterally hidden, have been now several times in Vinentiane, staying in Hotel nearby but could not see that restaurant when walking by. Lots of green stuff is hiding.
So I was invited by locals for dinnner.
Not that bad, but nothing special, there are other places for better food and service.
Its quite ok , so nothing extreeme, but still it. Lao style of service, which makes it average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    103
    56
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor service and lack of coordination”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a bad experience here. We ordered a main course each. My Mekong fish and potato soufflé arrived in reasonable time, but my wife's order did not arrive until 20 minutes AFTER I had finished my dinner.
The staff are not well organised and they seem to get little direction.
I asked to speak to the proprietor but was told he was busy in the kitchen. When I insisted the person taking the payment refused to cooperate. I confronted the waiter and he eventually managed to say he was sorry. If anyone goes there may sure they understand you want your ordered meals to arrive at the table at the same time. Poor service which completely spoiled the evening.
I will never go there again
Chris Sydney, Australia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cheap lunch expensive dinner”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Come to Le Vendome for their lunch during weekdays. It might be the cheapest French lunch you can ever find.
Service was poor and slow. Most of the times i didnt know where the waiters were. It takes time to get the menu and takes even more time to serve.

Helpful?
Thank vet181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Le Cheap”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Get yourself here if you're in Vientiane. Lunchtime specials are very affordable even for a long term backpacker. The food is great. I mean really really good. Really can get away with spending little because they'll keep filling you up with water if you don't wanna fork out for a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good if you need French food while in Laos”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This restaurant is a bit of a mixed bag. Good points are: the range of the menu (soufflés, soups, salads etc), the large portions, the relaxed atmosphere (probably not the spot for a quick meal!).
Not so good: it is a bit grubby, service is a bit haphazard. But when you just don't want any more fried rice or spicy food, this may hit the spot. And we found sitting on the ivy-clad veranda rather nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vendome also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing