We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French cuisine in the back streets.”
Review of Le Vendome

Le Vendome
Ranked #44 of 399 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“French cuisine in the back streets.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The restaurant is in a quiet back street, away from the tourist restaurants at the Mekong. They offer typical french food, with a good selection of grilled meat and fish, gratins and pâtés. The portions are large and well cooked.
We sat on the outdoor patio which is cooled by fans.
A lot of the people around us spoke French and seemed part of the local expat community.
I shared a pâté with my husband as a starter (huge portion), and we had grilled meat as mains, with a pichet of red wine. We had hoped to try the deserts, because the restaurant specialises in soufflés, and the desert menu looked really good, but it was just too much because of the size of the meals. All together we paid 255,000 kip (around US 32)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank karoh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    103
    56
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wish I had read the reviews!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Fond this when wandering through the streets and it looked lovely so thought we would try. The food was good, we had duck and soufflé both of which were well cooked. However, the service was awful... We waited around 30 mins for food which isn't so bad but once we had finished we sat with dirty plates for around 40 mins... No effort was made to clear them or offer dessert. I eventually went in and got myself a menu and still the plates were left! We decided to pay and leave and find dessert somewhere else. Staff looked disinterested and paid little attention to any of the customers. A real shame as this could be so nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fozzie_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tourist trap giving French food a bad name: AVOID”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dishes came out one by one. Pizza was ok by international standards. The rest was classic tourist trap crap...The sort of insult to health and civility that I have experienced in Nice, Paris, and Rome, and San Francisco,. The pumpkin soufflé looked great, but no pumpkin that any of our four tasters could find. And why did they served soufflé with no plates? I told the waiter We were not going to eat it with our hands., and made him fetch some plates to serve it. The rabbit took forever to cook, and was awash in a thick brown gravy. The mystery fish was left uneaten along with the odd carrot soufflé. By the end of the meal three out of four us were choking on the dense smoke from the mosquito coils that were burning at our feet, along with trash being burned in the street. If this French food, something was lost in translation. We are switching back to Laotian and Thai food, which is more reliably delivered in this area. And a lot cheaper. Great looking restaurant, but looks are not enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VendolaSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't go here for a romantic evening out or in fact any evening out.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went as a group of 5. Ordered our main course which came out 1 by 1 with an interval of approximately 5 minutes between each so by the time the last one (fish - isn't that quick to cook?) arrived the first diner had finished their meal. Pizzas looked OK , steak walking from the plate instead of medium and spinach purée consisted of spinach mixed with mashed potato - ugh!!
Not put off - we ordered the soufflés - chocolate and mango - both were well lifted but burnt and both were short of flavour or interest - neither was overcooked. Waiters were sweet but almost trying to pretend we weren't there. We had a funny night but at the expense of the restaurant's ability to perform.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chef150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

staffs were very kind.
the price was not expensive.
however, a bit disappointed with the food there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyoungjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vendome also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing