We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL Italian Restaurant!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gondola - CLOSED

La Gondola
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL Italian Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great food, perfect service, fair prices, huge selection, elegant. Cute owner too!!! I loved this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good authentc food, no pretensions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I also live in Vientiane and have watched restaurants come and go but always come back to Gondola. While the Aria is currently fashionable , it is pretentious and unnecessarily expensive compared the homey authenticity of Gondola. They have some great stuff on the menu including horse salami and some very good home made pastas. The wine list is good and affordable. A Sardinian cannennau is half the price of its equivalent at Aria.
Being deaf, I have to choose where I eat according to acoustics. The Gondola is just fine.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelodyLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
1 review
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

You can have a lot of very good Italian dishes there. The owner is very friendly, the service is good and the atmosphere is relaxing.

  • Visited July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxmar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
“Nice restaurant with great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

As an expat travelling in my spare time, I always love to get some good rest and food. At La Gondola I had some very tasty Italian pasta few times while was in Vientiane. Moreover staff is very friendly.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConstantlyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busto arsizio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Il vero cibo italiano - real italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Real Italian food, good atmosphiere. We met the owner, a nice italian guy. We feel at home even if we were far away.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giramondo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing