We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee”
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Western style bakery cafe serving bakery, dessert, ice cream, smoothies, shakes, 100% Lao Arabica organic coffee, sandwiches, salads, soups and more.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stopped in here on the advice of our driver. He said it was great coffee and it was. It is in the main tourist / backpacker part of town. i didnt eat anything other than a biscuit so cant comment on the food. The place seemed busy so i take it that it has a good following of regulars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davo_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Please thank your driver for us! You're right, we cater to locals, expats, and tourists alike. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    381
    123
    29
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
697 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Coffee & a Sweet.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, air conditioned, clean bathroom, comfortable....and a great selection of yummy cakes and treats. We opted for the mango crumble and found it quite tasty! We enjoyed our stop at Joma after a busy day walking/wandering in Vientiane on foot. Order at counter and food is brought to table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks OBD, glad you enjoyed your pie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok but expensive”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Relatively expensive compared to others in Vientiane. Coffee was good and cheesecake very nice. Service not the greatest. Location on main road not the most peaceful either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Since we make western-style food and rely on many imported ingredients, our dishes cost a bit more than local cuisine, but most customers agree that with our food you get great value for your money, otherwise our cheesecake wouldn't be nearly so nice!
Our downtown location is often busy at peak hours but it's quiet and cozy the rest of the time. We also have quieter locations in Vientiane, one near Phonthan and one near That Luang if you'd like a change of scene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great cinnamon scrolls”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

this is a relaxed comfy coffee shop. The coffee actually tastes like coffee and the cinnamon scroll was the best i have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatarm4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a little pricey but good cakes”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

comfy chairs, good coffee, great bagels and cakes.
This is a great place to relax (esp if you sit upstairs) and the WIFI is good (for Laos).
The egg bagel is really excellent and not just for breakfast!! The staff are helpful and the service is great. They try hard to be helpful and please. It is pricier than some other coffee spots in the city; you could also try Common Grounds, Scandanavian Bakery or Swedish Bakery for cheaper food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loving_living_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing