We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little pricey but good cakes”
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Western style bakery cafe serving bakery, dessert, ice cream, smoothies, shakes, 100% Lao Arabica organic coffee, sandwiches, salads, soups and more.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

comfy chairs, good coffee, great bagels and cakes.
This is a great place to relax (esp if you sit upstairs) and the WIFI is good (for Laos).
The egg bagel is really excellent and not just for breakfast!! The staff are helpful and the service is great. They try hard to be helpful and please. It is pricier than some other coffee spots in the city; you could also try Common Grounds, Scandanavian Bakery or Swedish Bakery for cheaper food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank loving_living_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 518 of 895 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Popular coffee spot, JOMA also serves some of the most delicious cakes in Vientiane. We had the chocolate and the carrot cakes and were in absolute heaven. Coffee is great too. Staff are delightful and always eager to accommodate, though language is often a barrier in Laos. Needless to say, sign language comes in very handy. This is a place not to be missed if you're visiting Vientiane.

Thank Kelvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hi Chunkysaurous,

Thanks a ton for your 5 star review of Joma! It sounds like you quite enjoyed the coffee and cakes. We're very happy and grateful for you wonderful comments about our staff and will let them know.

Have a great rest of your travels,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Joma Bakery has been there for years. It is a local version of Starbucks where local expats and tourists come to chill out in the A/C and use WiFi. They have a good array of pastries, quiches and sandwiches. Coffee is all right but not the best in town. It remains an expat's meeting place. Prices are of course higher there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Christmate11,

Thanks a bunch for your review! You're right, we've been a refuge for expats and tourists alike for quite some time now. We're glad you choose us as your chill out spot! Thanks a ton and we hope to see you again or in LP or Hanoi.

Have a great day,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The choice of bakery goods is extensive and of a high quality. Be patient if there is a queue as it will be worth it and the staff are friendly and efficient

Thank gastroroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi gastroam,

Thanks a ton for your review! Yes, we are quite busy and are successful because of patient customers like you. Thanks for taking the time to enjoy what we have to offer!

Safe rest of your travels,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were excited to eat there because it's quite popular but we didn't enjoy the experience. The ambiance is cozy but most of the items in the menu are not available when we went there. We spent around 150000 kip for 2 drinks,salad and 2 sandwhiches.

Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Maya A,

Thanks for your review of Joma. We wish you could have been more detailed in the items which weren't available. To be honest, we have never received this comment before as all our menu items are usually available; our bakery items are provided fresh until sold out.

Hope the rest of your travels are safe and fun,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
Vientiane, Vientiane Prefecture
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing