We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Starbucks.... But with more backpacks!”
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Western style bakery cafe serving bakery, dessert, ice cream, smoothies, shakes, 100% Lao Arabica organic coffee, sandwiches, salads, soups and more.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just like Starbucks.... But with more backpacks!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place is good if you are Home sick for bagels with coffee. It is pricier than many other places around. The wifi didn't work on the day we were there.
Bagel egger (bacon, egg, cheese) tasted ok, but a bit processed.
Atmosphere is not really there, but the toilets are clean... And you can flush the paper.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Halz84,
Thanks for your review and especially for taking the time to review Joma in Luang Prabang as well. Our food is pricier than most Lao food and street food due mainly to the many "western" ingredients we cannot source in Laos. Our meals, baked goods, and everything are prepared fresh in our cafes or our nearby bakery, not preserved or processed. Sorry you didn't enjoy the atmosphere as we put in a lot of consideration to give it the look and feel of the sort of cafes we love visiting in the US and Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    392
    124
    29
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than Starbucks”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you want something other than local food come to this cafe. They've got a bit of everything from breakfasts, to sandwiches, pizzas, cakes, great coffee and smoothies. Their BLT sandwich is absolutely delicious. Although its a bit pricey but its worth it. This place is always full with people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks mtcy, we're glad you enjoyed your visit! Since we use many ingredients that aren't readily available in Laos, we're at a higher price point than most local food, but we always strive to give you the best value for your dollar. Thanks for coming by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are craving something other than rice and noodles, this is the best stop. Great breakfast and delicious coffee. Also good for a snack or a smoothie.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, if you can get a seat”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Joma is the closest thing you'll get to Starbucks in Vientiane and it has the customer volume to match. It is difficult to snag one of the comfy seats but very pleasant if you can manage it. We did not try any meals, but the coffee and pastries were quite good, particularly the cinnamon roll.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peegfeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks Peegfeesh! Sorry about the comfy seats, they are in hot demand! If you come during the morning or evening it's easier to snag one than during midday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great coffee and goodies!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Cafe is like a taste of home when you need comfort food and great coffee. Their lemon and almond bars are out of this world good, as is their Lao iced coffee. The turkey dinner sandwich tastes just like a sandwich made from holiday dinner leftovers! I couldn't believe how good it was. Ended up going back for more in Luang Prabang and Hanoi. The only drawback is the higher prices but the quality is excellent. If you're looking for a change of pace from Asian food, give Joma a try.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roadhogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing