We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expensive for what it offers” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fujiwara Restaurant

Fujiwara Restaurant
Ranked #280 of 339 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
“Expensive for what it offers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I paid for a place of sushi and a beer, 210 thousand kip! had to wait for a long time to be served and found my own table since waiters/waitresses were very busy serving tables. Noisy... like a Mc Donalds of Japanese food. If wanting less expensive Japanese food and in the center of the city, much better Nos Sushi Bar! no comparison.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcolfa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a rip-off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The decor, the number of staff working, and the menu selection - excellent! The actual value for your money - what a rip-off! I couldn't believe the price of everything on the menu! And for average sushi!! I pay less for better sushi in inland Canada! And the sashimi only came with 2 pieces, something I wish would have been pointed out to us ahead of time. And you have to pay EXTRA on top of the high priced sushi for wasabi, ginger, hand wipes, and green tea! Wish we never bothered.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ACCTD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent sushis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I try to go there once in a while and have to admit that the quality of the products is quite good. I love the fresh salmon imported from Norway. Last visit, I was a bit disappointed by the tuna (also imported from Norway). Overall, it is a good Japanese restaurant. Service is fine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Kula_Lumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Vientiane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Don't know why we didn't visit this excellent restaurant before. We were invited to join friends, who had already ordered a selection of dishes ahead of time. It was overwhelming, but everything tasted excellent and was well presented. Service was good We were a group of ten in a private room, which got a bot hot at times when the doors staid closed too long. Otherwise, the atmosphere is cozy. The sashimi tasted relatively fresh, and was of good quality. A novelty for me: briefly deep fried Californian roll; makes the nori very crisp. Highly recommended form families, groups, couples and business dinners.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frielink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having lived in Japan for well over a decade I am somewhat of a Japanese food snob, so I was surprised at the quality and taste exhibited by this Japanese resto located on a touristy side street in Vientiane. The place was full of Japanese residents and tourists, a great sign, and the menu contained all the classic and even some specialty dishes not often found outside of Japan. I ordered the hiyashi chuka, a cold noodle dish that's hard to make correctly, and it was really good. The sashimi looked very good, the chef was very practiced in my opinion. By Laotian standards this place is expensive, but cheap if compared to Japan or other developed countries.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twice_the_Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiwara Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Fujiwara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing