We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

Ban Vilaylac Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This became a regular haunt when I was in Vientiane for a few months. In particular I can recommend the massaman curry, which I had a number of times. The food was always fresh and well-presented, and the owner speaks English well. This was one of my favourite two or three restaurants in Vientiane.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mealadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Something special!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Set out to go to Makphet but ended up at the Ban Vilaylac Restaurant. Extensive menu catering for every taste and a sensitive owner who speaks enough English to be able to customise dishes to your personal preference. Had the lemon fried fish, special fried rice & mixed fried vegetables and WOW, would defy you to find a better meal in South East Asia. Without question will be returning to the Ban Vilaylac.

Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great local food- a real find”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

we ordered off the Lao menu - the owner/chef asked us whether we wanted it spicy. when we told her that we liked it on the spicier side, she made each course a bit more intense than the previous. she helped us enjoy the meal without blowing our tops off. (papaya salad=3 chillies, laap =4 chillies, shredded pork with vegetables=5).
i'd recommend going- we found it to be one of the better meals we've had on this trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoggie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Went here based on advise from a Vientiane Expat”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had asked a Lao friend of a friend to join us for dinner and we had picked out Makphet restaurant because of its ratings and also it's social purpose. We arrived there a little after 7:30pm and there were no spaces left and actually several people waiting. We then went to the location of where we thought would be our second Lao food option but it was a French restaurant. As we were debating what to do next and standing there with our map, a woman walked up and asked if she could help. We explained we were looking for a Lao restaurant that we thought was here. She then suggested Ban Vilaylac restaurant which she says all the expats go to and as it is right next door to Makphet with the big plants in front of it, the place was easy to find. We had a steamed fish which was excellent, a yellow chicken soup, chicken laayoune and a chicken Thai basil especially for Phongsax who liked his food hotter than we did. Everything was delicious and including beers and tip it was 250,000 kipp with food left on the plates.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was OK, but the atmosphere was cramped and untidy.”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The food here is typical Lao / Thai fare. The laap and papaya salad were good, but the steamed vegetables and salsa were unappetizing to say the least. What put me off most was the atmosphere. The tables were cramped and slatted, which made it difficult to enjoy the meal. The bathroom looked to be the same one that the owner used, and I couldn't keep my eyes off of the slimy green fish tank and the poor fish gasping for air inside of it. Won't be going back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pointpelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Vilaylac Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Ban Vilaylac Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing