We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Douang Deuane Hotel
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recommend”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Great hotel.
Excellent value for money as there is free internet in the lobby and breakfast is included.
We went round lots of hotels and B&B's checking out rooms in Vientiane, and this was the best for our money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MreeLavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    37
    9
    13
See reviews for
9
47
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

i would like to warn people about staying at the Douang Deuane Hotel in Vientiane Laos we arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night after a long bus trip when we arrived there we were told that we needed to pay up front for the room we wanted to stay 3 night but only had enough money for one night, we asked if we could pay for the other 2 night in the morning he told us that it was not possible and we needed to pay for the 3 night then he told us there was a ATM at the end of the road so we went and got the correct money for him. well after 3 night we went to leave and was told that we had not payed for the room for the other 2 nights and we needed to pay. we told the manager that we payed and he would not believe us he called the police. on looking at the receipt which i signed had only been for one night so i made a mistake by not checking but we were very tried and with having to look for a ATM and coming back to the hotel i assumed when he handed me the receipt he had completed it correctly. the management were very rude. There was no way we were going to try and leave without paying why would we it was a nice hotel plus if it was a company policy thatyou pay before you stay why did noone tell us before that we still own money, and another thing the guy who took the money of us just happened to be 4 hour away and could not get back to the hotel so we were left there we had booked a but trip to Thailand which left at 10:30 that we missed because of the trouble, in the end we payed again for the room.

Helpful?
2 Thank denouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

stayed here for 4 days and was quite happy with the pricing. rooms are on par with other locations for a similar cost. room was exceptionally clean, with ameneties as per previous posters. staff were extremely friendly and helpful and few language issues arose.

as previously stated, restaurant is now closed, but plenty of high quality establishments are within metres of this place.

am extremely surprised at past review regarding issues on price as prices here are clearly posted and were not negotiable on request.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — doors were easy to leave unlocked if not careful
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank forgottenforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

First of all, I am baffled by the review posted in July. I have stayed at the Double D three times, and on each occasion the same weatherbeaten sign has been prominently displayed on the front door in plain English: DOUBLE ROOMS US$20 PER NIGHT (or very similar wording). Amazing to me there could be such misunderstanding concerning price... Moreover, every member of the reception staff I have encountered has been accommodating and reserved to the point of shy. I cannot imagine any of them being outspoken, much less rude. Among Southeast Asians, of course, laughter is often a cover for pain, embarrassment, confusion, etc.

In any case, I like this hotel very much. As another reviewer points out, amenities include cable TV (and brand new television sets), refrigerator, hot water, big bathtub, good air conditioning, comfortable (but very firm) bed, starched and ironed sheets, and speedy elevator. Rooms and hallways are spotlessly clean, and the hotel's location is central--just a half block from the Mekong in one direction and major shopping/sightseeing in the other. Although the restaurant has long been closed, just steps away are several cafes that serve suberb croissants and excellent coffee.

Some photos are attached, I hope...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGBIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I CANT EVEN BEGIN TO EXPLAIN HOW ANGRY I AM FEELING RIGHT NOW SO BEST TO TAKE OFF THE CAPS LOCK! We have just stayed in one of the rudest, most ridiculously run hotels we have ever come accross in our lives. The DOUANG DEUANE in Vientiane is run by the most idiotic people I have ever had the displeasure to meet. We have stayed accross Laos for the past few weeks and have loved everything; the culture, the sights, the people just everything. When we arrived in Vientiane a few nights ago we were pretty excited, and after a good hour search for guesthouses etc I came upon the Douang Deuane. On the door it had a price of 200,000KIP but as Laos has taught me you are more than entitled to ask for a better price. I asked and the young man behind the counter told me that "ok, 130,000" as we were staying for 2 nights. I checked again and was told yes; at this price, the hotel seemed good value. A little more than the average guesthouse and yes devoid of any soul, but hot showers and cable were a welcome restbite....Still we checked the price a 3rd time when my girlfriend arrived. Yes again....We stayed our two nights and on the day of checkout we asked to stay another night as my partner had become sick. This was all ok and we carried on with our adventure. Come checkout today another front of house man handed us a bill for 600.000KIP. Our Bill of course should only be for 390.000. We informed the hotel that we had agreed 130.000 with the other member of staff who was promptly ushered forward from the back. He tried to say (laughing) that he would not agree to this.We promptly told him that we had checked 3 times as to the price, a mexican standoff ensued with the man laughing and trying to enforce the price. We asked to speak to the manager who also ran the travel service over the road (seemingly nice). At this point we went to pick up our stuff and make our way over to the manager, when my girlfriend had her bag ripped from her hands. During our explanation the manager became abusive and swore at us many times. She mentioned the police which we were happy to speak to as we knew we were in the right. It was this point that a lie detector was mentioned, again we were more than happy for this, finally the liar would be outed. We were then told WE would have to pay $1000 for the pleasure!!!!!!!!!!! To sum it up, this hotel is corrupt and rude, I would definately not wish this displeasure on anyone else, an awful experience that has tainted our last day.

Helpful?
1 Thank thehungrydaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#32 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#50 of 93 in Vientiane
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#15 of 93 in Vientiane
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lao
Hotel Lao
#48 of 93 in Vientiane
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douang Deuane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douang Deuane Hotel

Property: Douang Deuane Hotel
Address: Nokeo Koummane Rd. Bane Mixay, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Douang Deuane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Douang Deuane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing