We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend for price.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douang Deuane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douang Deuane Hotel
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would not recommend for price.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed here two nights after riding a motorbike around north Laos. Like other recent reviews, the service was terrible with the two guys on the front desk more interested in watching TV. Room was mouldy and smelly and the aircon did not work properly. Breakfast was terrible - after a horde of tourists had eaten almost everything they would not replenish anything.
This is more like a cheap guesthouse and if was priced accordingly would be ok. For the price compared to other places very near, cannot recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plbk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    36
    9
    13
See reviews for
9
47
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a pleasant 3 nights at this hotel. It was clean and also cleaned daily with 2 free bottles of water each day. The fridge and bathroom were old. The bathroom could do with being re-done. The shower curtain stank which was the main negative and that's a cheap thing to fix. Looking at other reviews it seems the 5th floor has been done up. I requested a room on 5th floor on the online booking but that was ignored. We were put right at the end of 4th corridor and unfortunately couldn't pick up the wifi there which was a main reason for choosing that hotel.

Location is great. Breakfast is so so. You help yourself to instant coffee, tea or squash, toast and jam or fried rice and noodles. Some limited fruit options also.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_darkshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

rooms are nice but full of ants, and i mean really plenty of them. on the desk, on your stuff, in the bed and so on and so on.
when the housekeeping is rolling in it's like 6 women working in your room, thats kind of weird.
and they are not really cleaning, I don't know what they are doing there.
The two boys at the reception are sitting the whole time at the desk watching TV. When I asked for an extra towel because I had to clean something on the ground. He just said: No, housekeeping is already gone!
These two boys are doing nothing but watching TV. We had no WiFi in our room - it would take these guys maybe 10 minutes to take a Networkcable and move the WiFi just a few meters to the middle of the floor but nooooo, guess what - they are watching TV.
And hey - don't think you will get a "good morning" when you come down the stairs - better expect a: you have to pay for the next night...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupus243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location was fantastic, close to everything, but everything else was average to poor. The room was quite big, but while we were there the toilet stopped working. All the staff that we came in contact with were ranged from not wanting to help and being totally disinterested, to being totally rude. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

You will get your money's worth at this hotel. The rooms are huge. Got it all, hot water, AC, safes, nice balcony. Some with slight view of Mekong. Friendly front desk staff. And the rate includes a WOW breakfast. Nice, convenient location and quiet at night. All in all a good to great pick.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I usually save my reviews for great hotels, bit thought I might share this one - we stayed for 200,000kip for a double room after arriving back from Vang Vieng and just needing somewhere to rest.

I had a quick look at the room before agreeing, but wish I'd looked a bit closer.

The pros:
- good location near some great coffee and food spots, and an easy walk to the Mekong. Tuktuks were available outside all the time.
- spacious rooms with comfortable beds and free water in recycled (?) bottles

The cons:
- the advertised wifi didn't work (in the room or lobby) any of the time we were there. Staff at reception shrugged it off. At one point, another couple were in reception checking out early because the wifi they were told was included in the price just didn't seem to exist - reception were pretty rude
- the bathroom had mould all through the tile grout and on the (smelly) shower curtain. I don't mind a bit of mould (have lived in enough student flats for that) but this was pretty bad
- the shower curtain also did nothing to stop water spraying right through it onto the floor
- the towels were pretty threadbare, and the sheets just seemed grubby
- the fridge seemed to be on its last legs, and looking pretty rusty
- this ones not important, but I was laughed at for asking at reception if there was a hair dryer I could borrow ("of course we dont have"). A bit of a luxury, fair enough, but didn't realize it was that crazy to ask...?

It was fine for a tired night, but I wouldn't recommend a longer stay, unless ours was a one-off experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimLarNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in the Douang Deuane Hotel just for one night but I think it is a good place in Vientiane. The rooms are clean and they have everything you need. At the lobby they have 2 computers which you can use for free. Wifi is available but unfortunately it just works in the lobby as well. The staff is very helpful and nice. They also offer bustickets to all the nearby tourist destinations. We booked a busticket to Vang Vieng and everything went great.
As Vientiane is the capital it seemed that the prices are a little bit higher than in many other places in Laos So be prepared to pay between 150 to 200.000 Kip for a double bed room with breakfast. For breakfast you have a buffet with eggs, toast, fruits, rice with some other warm dishes, sausages, jam, butter. So quite ok

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InWe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#43 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lao
Hotel Lao
#51 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#32 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#37 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douang Deuane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douang Deuane Hotel

Property: Douang Deuane Hotel
Address: Nokeo Koummane Rd. Bane Mixay, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Douang Deuane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Douang Deuane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing