We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational”

COPE Visitor Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$194.00*
and up
Half-Day Vientiane City Tour Including Hotel Pickup
More Info
$215.00*
and up
Vientiane Full-Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everyone should visit. very educational and a sobering experience.
Part of recent history that I was unaware of

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank akapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,333
    397
    35
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very interesting and worth while!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

we walked to Cope from Sihome back packers and were very glad to have spent our only morning in Vientiane doing something so educational. Why doesn't the world know about the awful situation Laos has been in?! Tell anyone about COPE and they have no idea of the amount of bombs dropped on the country. Shocking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank harrytucker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
299 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“An Education”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Like other reviewers, I had no idea of the bombing that Laos had been subjected to. It was very sobering to read about the cluster bombs and the amount still unexploded, even today, 40 years after the war. The Visitors Center, which is free, is well laid out. The videos are beautifully produced. If you miss them, look for them on You Tube. The video of the mother who lost her son to an unexploded ordnance is heartbreaking. COPE does an amazing job with amputees and for children born with club feet. COPE is walking distance from town, if you don't mind a bit of a hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We took our 3 children (ages14,11, 8) here last week. It drew them in and opened their eyes to the terrible consequences of cluster bombs. There were things to do like ride a bike and also test an artificial leg. The video was worth watching. The ice cream at the karma cafe was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JemmaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enlightening”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found this place amazing, was only planning on spending 30 mins, however we really had no idea on how much Laos has been affected. It is very emotional spent 2 hrs. A great experience and a must see. Make sure you make a donation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank QUIGGY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COPE Visitor Centre also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to COPE Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing