We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff for certain”

Scandinavian Bakery
Ranked #4 of 6 Bakeries in Vientiane
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rude staff for certain”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Since 2011 I have been coming to VTE and have made this a morning coffee stop, but I will do so no more. This morning was my last visit. The girl behind the counter has been consistently indifferent and rude and this morning would not even return a greeting. You can do much better elsewhere and have a smile as well. Try Joma or anywhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scappoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    150
    104
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SE Asia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Sunday breakfast!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The girl taking our order wasn't exactly "all" smiles but not rude as other reviews tell. We had the Egg Set and the Sandwich Plate. It was very nice and generous portions. The croissant, a bit too big and "heavy" though. Cold cuts and cheese of good quality and "greens" fresh. Please just peel the cucumber to your customers...should be standard. Coffee and tea came out very good and the service was average/good. We had a table upstairs and it was nice. WIFI free and very quick! If my visit wasn't totally different from others ranking this place very low I think the Tripadvisor community can safely disregard from a few of those reviews before mine. I was surprised to read it. I think this place is a 3,5 to 4 star, if rating it fairly. However I must agree that the girls working here are in need of serious guidance from a hands on manager. Just a little work here and this old establishment can rise again. I will return on my next visit to see how things are going since I took their side a bit with this review. To sum it up...we were happy customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyBoyLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff / wrong food”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Came here twice. Staff were rude both times but the first time at least we had a tasty croissant sandwich for breakfast so came back and ordered the same thing again.

Food arrives and it's a dry roll sandwich. I ask where the croissant was and they say 'all gone'. Maybe they could have mentioned that when we ordered croissants.

Will not be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank SeaBeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Complete Mess”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Went for simple breakfast this morning and was greeted by a surly young lady who took our order. Asked for a toasted bagel which was served whole, not sliced, and slightly warmed. The lady at the counter was most unhappy when I asked her to toast my bagel. She did so, but took her time and was annoyed with me. The place was a mess.... Dirty dishes on the tables and an obvious lack of care on the part of staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuzBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rude staff and nothing special”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The worst experience in Laos. Staff doesn't speak English or don't care at all, it was hard to understand. They cannot explain anything. My boyfriend was asking for fruit shake, told like 5 times and in the end they brought him milk one. I ordered bagel with cream cheese, please do not do such a mistake!! Bagel was average and they put a teaspoon of cream cheese. Tea is Lipton, but they charged twice more than other restaurants of this quality do. Regular price for lipton tea in Laos is 5000 kip, they charged 11000 kip. Do not recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheremetushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinavian Bakery also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Scandinavian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing