We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food / Great Cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Makphet Restaurant - CLOSED

Makphet Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open Monday to Saturday from 11am to 10.30Pm (Kitchen closes at 9.30Pm) This award-winning restaurant (Miele Guide) is the culinary destination of choice in the Laotian capital, Vientiane. Makphet offers creative Lao cuisine, as well as great shakes and cocktails, all in beautiful surroundings. The restaurant also has a small gift shop attached to it, selling products made by families which will help keep their children in education.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
312 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Food / Great Cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I'd highly recommend Makphet for its wonderful local cuisine and ambience.....even if it weren't a training restaurant dedicated to expanding the opportunities for young Cambodians.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    181
    51
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and a worthy cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Friends International restaurant trains street kids in the hospitality trade:
https://www.facebook.com/Makphet

We were so pleased that we got to support this cause and to be "rewarded" with such an excellent meal.

We had: chicken curry with pumpkin and mushroom ("she" thought it outstanding; "he" gave it a 9 out of 10); buffalo and vegetable soup (okay, but a little forgettable) and mango cake with coconut ice cream (very good: fresh, moist and tasty).

The fruit drinks were also exceptional: watermelon & citrus freeze (9/10) and mango & orange (8/10).

Yes, it's expensive but we thought it was worth the extra for this quality!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheSaysHeSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I cannot think of a bad word to say about Makphet.....except that it is good idea to book in advance.Staff are attentive and efficient menu is original and creative, general ambience is excellent. And all the profits go to charity I have been several times and will go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afsl0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Its a great experience - book in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The servers were so nice and cute trying to be professional. The food was excellent. I recommend this place A LOT!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Of the three meals we have had in Vientiane so far, this was by far the best. All the dishes we tried were very tasty, the staff were helpful and pleasant, and there was a good atmosphere. We liked the fact that it was training children who would otherwise be on the streets, and the little craft shop had some lovely items.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makphet Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing