We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for poor quality”

Restaurant Le Provencal
Ranked #298 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: French, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
“Overpriced for poor quality”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Food didn't arrive as advertised, and staff were unhelpful as I tried to explain that I was allergic to the replacement, and wanted the food I had ordered. The rest of the food arrived okay, but was definitely not worth the prices they charged for it! Especially avoid the ratatouille if you like the traditional dish

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    35
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great food and very reasonable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ordered endives in ham and cheese, a dish my grandmother use to make, and it was wonderful. Also the tomato and walnut salad are to be recommended. Together with a small bottle of red graves and a double espresso the bill came to 150.000 kip about 20 $

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BangkokCarnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best pizzas I've had in Laos”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thin and crispy base and great ambience. Great holiday feel. Order the Grande Dame for dessert for a special treat. Salads are huge and fresh and delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhineasPhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty spot”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a craving for steak, I ordered the 250g strip loin with peppercorn sauce and it came with fries and ratatouille. I'm pretty fussy about my steak...I ordered it rare and it came just as requested. A small bit had gristle but this is just the nature of the strip loin, all in all it would probably have been less than 20g, though to be fair the steak was closer to the 300-350g mark. There was so much food I couldn't finish it...and I really did try!! Yes it was expensive if you compare it to asian food prices but if you compare it to western prices you get a bargin. I paid $17usd (including drinks) for what would have cost me probably $40+ back in Australia. The staff where also really nice, very helpful and lots of smiles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Vientiane, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Better French Restaurants Abound”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My sister was visiting and we went there because of its location, at the beautiful Nam Pu fountain area, and because of the number of clearly French ex-pats and tourists. However, the steaks we had were fatty and had gristle-it was clearly meat that had been purchased cheaply. Having lived in Vientiane for over five years I am aware of the vast differences in meat quality and what can be purchased at the local markets. On a positive note, the service was very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Provencal also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Restaurant Le Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing