We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there for cosy outdoor seating”
Review of Arzu

Arzu
Ranked #8 of 785 Restaurants in Bishkek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go there for cosy outdoor seating”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have come to this restaurant for several times and enjoy the cosy outdoor seating but was always a bit disappointed by the food. it is okay but not excellent. I was told that various langman dishes is are what Arzu is good in and known for by the locals...
The location and outdoor seating are convenient do however still give me sufficient reason to go to Arzu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birgit686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    88
    31
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“very average based on one meal there”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I confess I ate there only once, and the place is popular with locals and expat community. But they served me room temp mutton, tough and greasy on the bone (lot of bones). The Shislak (kabobs) chicken also was dry and fairly tasteless. Best feature was the waitress Anara who was very cheery and attentive. The decor and even seating are very traditional Kyrgyz. Maybe you will have better luck there than me?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“fast and tasty”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I order the typical noodles (Langman or something like that) and they were excellent, obviously hommade. They have a good variety, and I choose the one recommended by the local. Food, as usually in Kyrgyz, is not too expensive. I strongly recommend trying it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elmasgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delicous foods”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The restaurant's meals were really good. We tried pilav, "beşparmak", Türkistan type mantı much bigger than Turkish one, and some other meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alterIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not bad but Cafe Faiza is better...”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a decent meal at Arzu which would've been much better had our food been warm. All of the hot dishes arrived cold. The two highlights were the lagman assorti which, again, would've been better if it were served hot and the chocolate cake for dessert.

In our opinion, Cafe Faiza is a much better place to go for good, authentic Kyrgyz food that's actually warmed up.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bonniemarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arzu also viewed

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 

Been to Arzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing