We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can trust the kiwis!”
Review of Sierra Manas

Sierra Manas
Ranked #2 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Bishkek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sierra Coffee KG is part of Bishkek Coffee Roasters, proudly roasting and serving coffee in the Kyrgyz Republic. Sierra also offers soups, salads, sandwiches, muffins, pies, breakfast and a range of hot and cold drinks. Located on Manas Prospect, right next to the Russian Embassy, Sierra is easy to find and a great place to grab a coffee, a meal and relax. Our Manas St location is our first and most popular, gaining a loyal clientele since opening our doors in April of 2012.
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Having been trekking in the Tien Shan mountains for a week pushing through the caffeine headaches and drinking copious amounts of green tea it was amazing to get a decent latte. Sierra, has a cracking atmosphere, the comforting sound of the coffee beans grinding In the background, slick service with a smile. Coffee nicely roasted flavour, well made and served at a good pace to ensure it was crafted well.

Thanks to Brad and the team :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Mark,

Thanks so much for your review of our cafe! Glad we could be of service after a week of trekking in the Tien Shan. Kyrgyzstan has so much to offer and we are all really happy when our clients enjoy the great country we live in. And, of course we are happy we met your coffee and atmosphere expectations after trekking. Hope to see you again at Sierra Coffee KG!

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Sierra has 4 locations in town, but some are larger/nicer than others. The one on Manas seems to be their flagship, another at Vefa center is nice as well. The one by the Russian business center is connected to the 24/7 stoloviya and has a small staff so drinks sometimes take a while to prepare. Most locations have outdoor seating and the staff is super friendly. Usual suspects of espresso drinks and light food items for lunch or snacks are very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Paul,

Thanks for your review of our Sierra cafes in Bishkek. Yes, they are all a little different from each other due to the different types of locations. We do wish we could offer more at our smaller locations but space doesn't permit. Thanks for taking the time to post your review and helpful information for others to know, and we will work on our speed at the Rossiya Business Center location! (because there aren't that many orders there we usually have one or two at the most staff working there...so if there are lots of orders things do get a little slow).

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Let me start with the positive points. It's a nicely decorated wstern style cafe with attentive and English-speaking staff, quick and efficient service, fast & reliable wifi and a number of reading magazines available. Really goodbplace to sit down, relax and spend some quality time on your own or with companions.

but...

it's listed on tripadvisor as 'budget' (under the most affordable category), while the prices are not particularly friendly towards really budget travelers, which we happen to be. Small and basic chicken sandwich for 3usd or an omlette for 3usd is just not really budget. It's easy to find a sandwich in Bishkek for half the price or a plentiful dinner dish for the price of sierra's omlette. At the same time we realise that pricing is always relative and they might still be cheaper vs their direct competitors. But 'budget' place it is not.

Second of all, the food we had was far from satisfying. Chicken sandwich was just an oridinary toast bread with some rathet tasteless chicken stuffing. Equally the omlette was lacking taste.

All in all, it's all a matter of managing expectations. Basing on tripadvisor reviews, we expected a budget western-style cafe with super tasty food. We left very comfy indeed western style cafe with all the amenities you might need but with mid-range prices and unfortunatelly not too tasty food of rather small portions.

Thank NasiGorengPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear NasiGorengPL,

Thanks for your review of our cafe on Manas St in Bishkek. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with others. Thanks for noting the positive points of our service, speed, use of the English language and a good place to simply hang out with people.

Regarding the issues you have raised about price and food, we have discussed this with our team, especially the food.

Regarding price, I am not sure where on TripAdvisor we are listed as "budget," but the price range, in Kyrygyz som, is listed as up for 520som per person for a meal and drink, and in USD that is $10. This is accurate and I apologize if this information led you to think our prices were like a street stand in the city. Of course you can find cheaper food and drink in the city, and we have not advertised ourselves as being budget. As you have noted, compared to other establishments like Sierra in Bishkek, we are in general cheaper. For example, another cafe sells a double cappuccino for 320 som with service charge. Ours is 150 and no service charge. By any standard this is not expensive - a double shot cappuccino for less than $3. Considering how expensive it is to get coffee to Kyrgyzstan, and the high price of milk, this is actually very cheap.

Regarding the chicken sandwich, I apologize for the tastelessness of the sandwich. We are addressing this with our kitchen staff and development team. About bread - we cannot produce the same kind of bread as in Europe, though we would very much like to. There are some suppliers of bread that would be better, but the price of the bread would make the sandwich extremely expensive.

Again, I apologize for your experience which was tainted by unmet expectations. We are working to fix the menu item issues you have raised. I am sorry that you felt we were not a budget location, and again, we do not advertise ourselves as a budget location, but compared to other cafes in Central Asia, and especially compared to Europe, our prices are very competitive.

We do hope to see you again at Sierra!

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We missed this place and loved it even more when visiting a second time through town. They were great, food was even better and more choices.

1  Thank WolfgangsMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear WorldtravelingOkie!

Thanks for taking the time to review our cafe and note that you came back to us again. We have worked hard to expand our menu, both our drinks and food, so are happy you enjoyed your experience at Sierra.

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Trust a Kiwi to come up with a great little coffee shop in Bishkek! I enjoyed the breakfast omelet, whilst my husband enjoyed the pancakes with maple syrup. With the blackboard menu in English, and an English speaking staff, it was a nice change for us after more local fare in rural Kyrgyzstan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aussie_Nana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Aussie Nana!

Thanks for coming to our cafe in Bishkek! Yes, we imported a bit of our Kiwi culture into Bishkek life....so an Aussie should feel pretty comfortable at Sierra :) I am happy you enjoyed both your omelet and pancakes, and also that you enjoyed the local food while traveling in Kyrgyzstan. This is a wonderful country with many varied experiences and cuisines, and we are very happy to be part of Bishkek cafe life. Thanks for visiting and we do hope to see you again at Sierra!

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Manas also viewed

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 

Been to Sierra Manas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing