We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to snack and chill out in central Bishkek”
Review of Sierra Manas

Sierra Manas
Ranked #4 of 774 Restaurants in Bishkek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sierra Coffee KG is part of Bishkek Coffee Roasters, proudly roasting and serving coffee in the Kyrgyz Republic. Sierra also offers soups, salads, sandwiches, muffins, pies, breakfast and a range of hot and cold drinks. Located on Manas Prospect, right next to the Russian Embassy, Sierra is easy to find and a great place to grab a coffee, a meal and relax. Our Manas St location is our first and most popular, gaining a loyal clientele since opening our doors in April of 2012.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to snack and chill out in central Bishkek”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

An oasis for westerners with a comsmopolitan clientale. A busy place with a good menu board. English spoken and food is good quality and prompt. Place your order at the counter from overhead menu and take your numbered sign to one of plenty of tables and wait for delivery. Fast turnover of clients so if no places, there soon will be. Costs are reasonable and coffee is good - not always the case in Asia. Reasonable prices, good location, good food, prompt service and ambiance should ensure its success.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryKozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear StarryKozel,

Thanks for your review of our cafe in Bishkek, and glad that you were able to enjoy our food and coffee. We appreciate you noting the fast service as this has been an area we have been working on and tweaking to make sure we get food and drinks out to our customers more quickly. Hope to see you again soon at Sierra KG.

Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    77
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Craving western food?”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Go here! It has everything you will be craving, nice surroundings, great wifi and a good place to meet other ex-pats.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Kelly,

Thanks for reviewing our cafe in Bishkek. We're glad you enjoy coming to our place and hope to see you again soon!

Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“you forget you are in central Asia”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everything about this place is great - the cosy atmosphere, free wifi, fast service and REALLY superb menu. The owner is a foreigner so you can see he is trying to implement novelties in the restaurant business in Bishkek. Their business lunch menu is the best ever.

Inexpensive and fantastic, i wish we could have a place like that in Almaty! And they accept credit cards!

Only downside - no high chairs for kids.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anica9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Anica9,

Thanks for your review of our little cafe here in Bishkek. Glad to know that those living in Almaty are visiting us and appreciating our place! We try to provide the best cafe and coffee experience we can and we are happy to meet those expectations. About the high chairs - we actually just yesterday, before we received your review, had a conversation about this issue. We've been looking for a while for high chairs that would meet our quality standards...and decided we are going to have to commission someone to make them for us! Your review is helpful in confirming that we need to do this.

We hope to see you again soon.

Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem in Bishkek”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sierra Coffee offers wonderful coffees and drinks and also delicious light meals such as sandwiches/paninis, soups, etc. They offer free wifi which means you often find students, consultants and others hanging around to do work, skype etc. The staff are very friendly (and English speaking) and prices are very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank coddme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Coddme,

Thank you for your kind review of our cafe in Bishkek. I will make sure to share it with our staff to encourage them in their work. Reviews like yours are very encouraging for them as they work in a dynamic and often busy, stressful environment!

Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bustling coffee place with good food and wifi”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Clearly modelled on Starbucks in terms of furnishings and food, Sierra Coffee is a great addition to Bishkek providing excellent home cooked food and great coffee at reasonable prices. It is always busy, but the staff generally seem to cope. The menu is in English and Russian and there are seasonal specials, a choice of soups, salads, toasted sandwiches and paninis, plus delicious cakes and cookies. I had a few issues with a member of staff who insisted on speaking English, (not Russian, which I speak as well) and got the wrong end of the stick about my order - fortunately the owner was on hand to sort it out. If it were not for that I would be giving it 5. They roast their own coffee and you can tell, as it is fresh tasting and high quality. A nice touch is the map on the wall in which you place a pin to mark your home town - its beginning to look quite full! Free wifi is a great bonus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steppeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzuzbrad, Owner at Sierra Manas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Steppeagle,

Thanks for the good review of our cafe here in Bishkek, and I'm glad we were able to sort out any issues with your order right on the spot! As you can imagine, we have quite the range of nationalities, languages and accents, so sometimes things do get confused. We look forward to serving you again next time you visit Bishkek.

Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Manas also viewed

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
 

Been to Sierra Manas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing