We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Bishkek
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed for one night in one of 4 "garden rooms" in the courtyard (very nice to sit at night). My room (number 1) was clean but nothing special, TV and air conditioner did not work. Bathroom was spacey. Walls were very thin so I had to listen both to people in the next room watching an action movie in the middle of the night and also to car wash working 24/7. My friends living in rooms 3 and 4 were happier and had some good sleep. Breakfast was basic but fine. We asked the receptionist to order us a taxi to airport and had some unpleasant discussions about its price (500 som should be maximum).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukiauh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
13
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
240 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Grand Hotel is a very pleasure accommodation. Location is a few minutes from downtown. The hotel is clean and nice. Price is higher but not expensive. Rooms (apartmenst) 201-208 have view to garden with a fountain. Rooms in the 3rd floor are standard but they are window to the street. Braekfast is diverse (porridge, rice pudding, eggs, fruits, müsli with jogurt, cheese and ham). But restaurant service is not quick.

Room Tip: 201 is the best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
587 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights in this hotel. Price was 150 dollars per night but the room was a really big one, I guess 80 square meters. I was in Bishkek for teaching. So I spent all my time in my room or in the court yard preparing for the next day's lecture, i.e. I used the hotel and I recommend. They are amateurs but not disturbing. And additionally, they have a Turkce speaking receptionist, Aliye.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crownvict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotels in Bishkek are getting pricier, but this place is still reasonable. If you're staying for a week or more, it might be worth it to find an apartment that rents by the week because a week in this hotel got a little tiring. Everything was fine but nothing was great. The staff are helpful, the location is good, the breakfast is fine, the rooms were very clean, but the bed, the shower, the closet etc. - nothing was quite comfortable, especially after day 3.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the carwash next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifensee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent some nights in the Grand Hotel in Bishkek. Location is quite good, all tourist attractions and quite a number of restaurants are within easy walking distance. Reception staff speaks some English. Wireless is available, but it is a bit slow. Breakfast is all right, but don't expect anything like a buffet. You have to order what you want, but don't plan for getting anything impressive. Staff in the breakfast area will not understand English very well (if at all), so see that you ideally have some basic Russian available. Rooms offer plenty of space and are quite clean. So all in all: good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing to the courtyard. the others are facing the main road, which will be quite lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatever007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I sadly only got to see a few hours in this hotel as I flew on the Istanbul 0355 hrs flight but I thought it a very good choice of hotels in this attractive city. English speaking in reception and friendly. I had a good sized room on the ground floor overlooking the pleasant internal courtyard. An excellent bathroom and a comfortable bed were both very welcome before my long flight home. There is also a bar and a restaurant although I only got to try out a pizza (and the beer of course). Wifi works, although not so strong in the room, and is free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorset-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, newly built and very clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly, eg they have a deal with a local and very reliable taxi company, whose drivers are them excellent. Cars come on time and the drivers know the way. Airport transfers too.
WiFi works -- well in the lobby a bit worse in the rooms. Speed okay.
Rooms comfortable but nothing to see from the windows.
The place was fine for my purposes -- a short stay in town to renew my Kazakh visa with attendant ridiculous procedures. Kirghizia in a sensible and civilised manner lets Brits in with no visa hassles whatsoever.
The hotel's style is sweetly "Central Asia Modern", that is, it follows the rule "to make something grand, paint it gold"! So there's plenty of gold-painted bricks, shiny silvery curtains, and deep flock wallpaper for amateurs of the genre.
Happily recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveEssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishkek hotels
3.6 mi away
Futuro Hotel
Futuro Hotel
#1 of 45 in Bishkek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rich Hotel
Rich Hotel
#11 of 45 in Bishkek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.5 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#10 of 45 in Bishkek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soluxe Hotel
Soluxe Hotel
#13 of 45 in Bishkek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bishkek Boutique Hotel
Bishkek Boutique Hotel
#18 of 45 in Bishkek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#23 of 45 in Bishkek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: ul. Frunze, 428, Bishkek 720000, Kyrgyzstan
Location: Kyrgyzstan > Bishkek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bishkek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bishkek, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing