We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you already have to be in Astana, that's a nice play to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos President Astana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rixos President Astana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Astana
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you already have to be in Astana, that's a nice play to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

In the setting of my work, I had to spend five days in Astana, and the organizers chose this hotel.
This hotel looks exactly like all cookie-cutter hotels around the world, and it could have been located anywhere else around the world and you would not have known the difference.
That said, it was a great stay. The staff was very, very friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean.The spa, gym and saunas are great (all my colleagues reported that they had the best massage ever at this hotel!). The breakfast was wonderful (not least because you can actually get real coffee). Sitting in the lounge can be a tad expensive though. I ordered a latte, for which i was charged $11. Initially, I thought that was way too much, but when it came with so many sweets, almonds and raisins (see picture) it's fair.
The hotel offers excellent free wi-fi and provides FREE telephone calls anywhere in the world (never tried it, but I suspect it includes only landlines)
The hotel also has an excellent restaurant L'Olivo, run by an Italian chef. When it comes to dining at a hotel restaurant, it cannot get better.
All in all, stay is highly recommended.
Bring a lot to read and keep you busy, Astana doesn't have much to offer as a city (certainly not in the winter time)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    106
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
18
20
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Rixos President Astana Hotel,The hotel rooms are very nice and
staff were all really helpful. Breakfast was 5 star & restaurants & Bar with live music which I really enjoied.
Furnishing was top-notch, rooms were large and comfortable, food was superb and every single service staff was highly professional. I would definitely come back again in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostafa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is centrally located in Astana.

The rooms are very comfortable with a lot of space. The washrooms are also well equipped. I was surprised when i got to know international calls are free of charge at this hotel ( unlimited free international calls ).

Even though Astana is one of the coldest capitals in the world the hotel was well heated. I was here during the 1st week of February with temperatures going down to - 40 at times.

The hotel also has a gym with modern training machines. Water and towels are provided free of charge at the Gym.

Room service was prompt and responded quickly to any of our request..

Breakfast was widespread with an international Buffet.

You can find malls with a walking Distance of 10 mins.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Udith1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and every time I find that this great property is not managed well. One day there is no spoon to make tea, next day there is no tea, the next day there is a spoon and tea but no cup, the forth day body cream had not been replaced. The list just goes on and it is not a one off thing every time I stay here, because my company books me in here due to proximity to office, it is the same issues around quality control after the room is cleaned to make sure everything is replaced back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kasunabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Rixos in Astana is a beautiful hotel, a little bit glamour and you are welcomed by a girl in traditional Kazakh costume in the hall with chocolates, dried fruits and nuts. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were clean. A nice Irish-style pub, good breakfast area and a very good italian restaurant 'Olivio'. Service in the restaurant is friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is excellent with an amazing choice of food (ever had sushi for breakfast?).

The only negative thing is that somehow certain minor things just do not follow-up. For example: irregular supply of drinking water in the room with only one glass for 2 people; same for coffee or tea: only one mug is provided for 2 people (even after asking for 2 several times). The room was or over-heated or very cold. Difficult to understand the heating system.

Spa and gym in the basement are very nice. I can recommend manicure and pedicure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here. Everything was good. Bed comfy. Quiet room on one of the higher floors. Bar is expensive but good choice of food. Pleasant design of both the room and the public areas. Very kindly allowed a late checkout. Centrally located and very close to public transport. Reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Astana.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Pete_D London,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your impressions of our hotel in details. We are delighted that the hotel facilities and services overall exceeded your expectations. Reception team members were congratulated on their commitment to providing excellent services to our guests and great job!

We hope to have the pleasure to see you once again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice (Oct 2013 for a week and January 2014 for 3 weeks). I am a business traveller and we enjoy a special rate (US gov), so I cannot comment on price. Besides we are paid per diems, so staying in Astana is not as painful. The entire city is very expensive (I got a sticker shock coming from DC/North VA), so there is no surprise that the hotel is expensive. It is a Turkish chain hotel managed by an Italian, also they have an Italian catering manager and German and Dutch chefs.

Lobby and Atrium - are beautiful, with a lot of green plants, trees and fresh flowers.The atrium is very spacious, nicely appointed with tables and a lot of comfortable sofas. Nice place to have some tea, which is also pricey but comes with a tray with nutsm raisins and small cookies. Nice surprise. Need to make a special mention of birds. There are at least 8-10 birds (parakeets and cockatiels.. I had to google their names). They are in cages located in each corner of the artirum, so when they take a break from napping and feeding, they talk/sing a lot. I guess some clients complaned about the noise, but I like it.

Rooms - are spacious, nicely furnished, but a bit dark to my taste (not enough lighting). They have a desk, but often there is no outlet for plugging your laptop. Ask for an extension cord. The beds are hard to my taste, so I sleep on extra comforters to feel more comfortable. The hotel does not have blankets. When I asked for one, they brought 2 sheets, which worked out fine. The hotel itself is very warm, it was about 80F on the 5th floor, I had to turn off heat in my room (despite it being January and minus 15-20F outside). Rooms are quiet, good noise insulation. I don't hear guests next door. Rooms have a mini fridge (a bar with overpriced drinks) and a tea pot. They provide 2 bottles of water per day which is complimentary. They also have instant coffee, tea and sugar which is NOT being replenished on a daily basis unless you call and ask. Cleaning ladies are not responsible for tea/coffee..or a coffee cup for that matter. You need to call room service and ask. Also, despite the hotel staff being very friendly and hard working, sometimes, they just cannot connect the dots.. They took my coffee cup one day when I returned from the office. I called and asked why they took it. The answer was "probably because it was dirty" !!!! Well.. you could've (1) leave it dirty; (2) wash it or (3) replace with a clean one.. Instead they just took it. Back in October I ended up with 3 coffee cups in my room (2 of them remained dirty, sitting in various parts of the room). Go figure.. I think part of it is local culture/mentality and impossibility to train everybody to the same standard or understanding of westen-style service.

Phone and internet - free phone - VOIP - you can call anywhere in the world for free. I called US, Ukraine and the connection was pretty decent. Wireless internet is fast and pretty reliable.

Food - well... very pricey on the menu. I usually order from their Turkish menu, as I cannot bear to pay $25 for a club sandwich or a burger. Room service is even more outrageous, so it is better to eat in the atrium ($13-$17 per Turkish dish). Breakfast is an overkill. They cater to various cultures (soup and manty, sushi and korean type food). Good selection of cheeses, cold cuts, freshly baked bread and pastries. You can find bacon: it is buried under non-halal sausages. My two complaints are: (i) they cook eggs right in the dining area and there is no exhaust. If several guests order omelettes, you, your hair and clothes will be smelling like greasy kitchen. It is pretty annoying. I never go there in my business clothes. (ii) Eggs are terrible.. the yolks are barely yellow. Not hotel's fault. I imagine they come from vitamin D deficient chickens..

Gym and the Spa - I am an avid runner, so a decent treadmill is a must (especially when you are in the Snow Blizzard Capital of the World). Treadmills are terrible. My guess they are not leveled and they run hard. It feels like you are running uphill. Normally an effortless 5 miler becomes a painful ordeal on those treadmills. There are 2 stationary bikes and 2 ellipticals, several other weight machines and free weights. If you are not a treadmill snob like me, you will be happy with the gym. They provide towels and water. There is a whole fridge with water right in the gym.

Spa/Saunas are FABULOUS and very clean despite a lot of traffic. I have not done any massages, but heard they are very good. There are 5-6 Filippino ladies working there. I imagine they know what they are doing. There is a very nice pool. Bring your googles and you can do laps when it is not crowded. It gets crowded only during weekends when rich and plump locals come to enjoy the saunas and the pool. Speaking of saunas: there are 2 dry saunas (90C and 110 C), a steam room with menthol (very hot) and a Turkish bath. There is a "Relax Room" with dim lights, quiet music and candles. You can take a nap, relax or even have some expensive tea.

Staff - I find all hotel staff very hardworking and friendly. I cannot comment on their English skills as I speak Russian. I heard front desk and waiting staff speak fluent English.

Smell - about a week ago we returned to this hotel smelling like baby puke (the entire building except for the rooms). I am not being dramatic about.. I asked the front desk about it and they explained that it was a special solution they use to clean marble and brass.. It's been a week and the place is still stinky. If you don't have a sensitive nose, it might be ok.

The bottom line - I am likely to return to this hotel. However a brand new Marriott will be opened in March 2013 and then all bets are off..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 67Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear 67Virginia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your impressions of our hotel in details. We are delighted that the hotel facilities and services overall met your expectations. Please note that all the relevant feedback on team and coffee facilities was passed to our F&B Manager, who is looking into improving this. Your comments on staff attitude have been share with the team, and we are proud to have all these young people working as part of the team at Rixos.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you once again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.7 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 54 in Astana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#4 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
2.0 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#7 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Property: Rixos President Astana Hotel
Address: Kunayeva St., 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Astana
#1 Business Hotel in Astana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana combines the peak of comfort and luxury in Astana. Classically inspired yet fresh and eco-friendly, this luxury hotel's accommodation options are among the city's most spacious. Of the 184 guest units, including 4 Junior Suites, 2 Premium Suites, 12 Presidential Suites and 2 Royal Suites, the most spacious accommodation in Astana, all are offering magnificent view of the city. In-room facilities are geared to the needs of international business travelers. Rixos President Astana blends local tastes and world cuisines with style and luxury. Destined to be among the city's hottest see-and-be-seen destinations, Rixos President Astana features lifestyle restaurants with the finest dining and nightlife in Astana. Our international and globally experienced Food & Beverage Team provides the best and most authentic culinary experiences. Located in the heart of Astana, Rixos Wellness & SPA is city's most luxurious retreat. A place to unwind, restore and invigorate the body and mind. Surrounded by gentle interiors, advanced fitness equipment, an expansive swimming pool, steam room, sumptuous treatment areas, it brings relaxation, wellness and fitness to the core. The Spa features relaxing treatment rooms as well as the sensual bathing retreats Hamam, which allows fully immerse in exotic Turkish ritual ambience. Relaxation lounge is the ideal place to have a rest between appointments. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments, including different types of massage, facials and body treatments. Rixos President Astana offers over 1,000 square meters of functional space, including seven meeting and event facilities to host official receptions, conferences, business and private meetings and banquets. Choose from our many distinguished venues, and our attentive staff will organize, oversee and deliver every last detail of your event, conference or special occasion. Discover flexible spaces that adapt perfectly to your meeting purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing