We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel leaves me cold!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixos President Astana Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Astana in winter is one of the coldest Capital cities in the world. But if you stay in an expensive 5 star Hotel, you expect quality and comfort. That's not what you will get at Rixos. During my most recent stay it was cold in every possible respect. A freezing room, cold service and cold and unappetising food in their signature Restaurant, L' Olivio.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3NJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 366 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for business for 4 days in September. It is a very nice hotel, and has advantages and disadvantages compared to the Radisson. I shared the hotel with the Korean president's delegation during my stay, which significantly increased security hassles and led to an inability to drive up to the hotel at times, but that's not the hotel's fault, obviously.
Disadvantages:
- the breakfast is better in the Radisson
- the rooms are a bit dated

Advantages:
- location
- common area (the Radisson is very dark and gloomy, the Ritzos has a big central lounge that is full of light and very nice
- the spa, unless you are a hardcore fitness nut

I want to comment specifically on the spa. For the more relaxed fitness type like me, this is perfect. There wasn't a long walk, the pool was nice, the fitness equipment sparse but all I needed. If you are really into your workouts, go to the Radisson. You have to walk a bit underground to get to the gym, and the changing areas aren't as well apponted and it is busier, but it is a far more serious place.

Going back to Astana in January, I will stay in the Radisson again, but it's really just a question of the Carlton points, not one of disappointment with the Rixos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

the rixos is the only international hotel close to business district, with the radisson about 30 minutes drive away.
the hotel looks nice enough, but the service overall leaves a lot to be desired:
When I wanted to amend my reservation during my stay (of one month) I was initially told that I could not (made me feel like I was in Hotel California....) which was only resolved after two days and having to call the manager.
room service is less than mediocre as is the food in the restaurants: portions are tiny and overprized. room service is always late, takes about 3 times as long as they claim. That is if they dont call you after 30 minutes to tell you what you ordered is not in stock....
laundry/dry cleaning: I have yet to understand this one, but I was initially told they do not have dry cleaning. When I asked them if they were serious that I would not be able to clean my clothes for a whole month they responded after a few days that I would be able to hand in my dry cleaning on workdays between 8 and 6 (great.....just when I am at work)....so I am taking my clothes to an external laundry place.


sauna is nice with two different temped saunas and a steambath. massages are nice but slightly overpriced. breakfast is included but limited to what you would be used to in an international hotel but good enough to survive on. Steer clear of most of the fruit, which is either green or rotten but thats a general issue in the country. internet is included but like everything else not something to be relied upon, access everywhere but low quality.

oh, the temperature control has one setting: sauna (there is no off in winter)

Next time around I will definitely be trying my luck at the Radisson but if you need to stay here, dont get a front facing room as the 4 super tv screens that are on and beam right into the room are guaranteed to give you an epileptic seizure. Dont get a room in the back either since they dont have windows that open (and the window is the only way to regulate the temperature in the room) and in the back the piano they play every day comes straight into the room.

oh, for the fans of a hard matress: the beds are like bricks.

Room Tip: if you need to stay here, dont get a front facing room as the 4 super tv screens that are on and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Rixos has an excellent breakfast buffet. The hot selections vary from day to day, which is nice if you are staying for multiple days.

The internet was included in the fee and worked very well.

The premises were very attractive and the banquet food was good.

The bathroom included both a spa tub and a shower stall. The shower was very good and I did not try to spa tub.

The room was large and attractive with a nice long marble bench that could be used as a luggage rack.

The negatives were that the room was warm and while it indicated that I had turned on the air conditioning, it did not appear to be cooling, so I had to open a window. That increased the noise level slightly and meant the temperature got cooler than desired overnight.

For some reason there are no facial tissues anywhere in the hotel. Not in the guest rooms or public toilets.

There are no wash cloths (face cloths) in the bathroom, but that is often the case in hotels outside of the US. However, in 5 star hotels, there usually are face cloths, so I considered this to be an exception.

Service at lunch in the restaurant was extremely slow. It took forever to get soft drinks, salad and pizza. I think it took about 2 hours for a party of 4.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really liked the Rixos - the hotel is beautiful and is in a great location for the airport and for visiting Astana. The food was nice, but the bar (and bar food) was very expensive. Unfortunately I didn't get to experience the spa and thought the treatments were also expensive, but the hotel experience was fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel but too..... pricy.
Nice 25 meter pool and nice sauna's. Although this beautiful spa, location prices are really crazy and not worth it.
Will sure be back here when our customer puts us here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A very expensive hotel with little character and disappointing service (despite the other reviews). Room smelt very strongly of cigarettes and propping the window open with the trash can still did not relieve the stench. 3rd floor evidently has some plumbing issues too with some revolting smell. In fact good luck in getting to the 3rd floor because the lifts did not like to have 3rd floor button to be pressed, choice was to go to 4th floor and then walk down the emergency staircase.

Getting a cup of tea or coffee in the morning is akin in asking the waitress for their first born child.

24hrs + for clothes washing to be completed and one of the poorest Irish bars I have ever come across internationally.

Do not forget anything essential as the hotel has nothing in store. I forgot my adapter and they had only UK plug basis, only option was to buy from local mall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.7 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#3 of 64 in Astana
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Astana
The Ritz-Carlton, Astana
#15 of 64 in Astana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The St. Regis Astana
The St. Regis Astana
#5 of 64 in Astana
26 reviews
2 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#9 of 64 in Astana
131 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#6 of 64 in Astana
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Address: Kunayeva St. 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Astana
#1 Business Hotel in Astana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range: $120 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana combines the peak of comfort and luxury in Astana. Classically inspired yet fresh and eco-friendly, this luxury hotel's accommodation options are among the city's most spacious. Of the 184 guest units, including 4 Junior Suites, 2 Premium Suites, 12 Presidential Suites and 2 Royal Suites, the most spacious accommodation in Astana, all are offering magnificent view of the city. In-room facilities are geared to the needs of international business travelers. Rixos President Astana blends local tastes and world cuisines with style and luxury. Destined to be among the city's hottest see-and-be-seen destinations, Rixos President Astana features lifestyle restaurants with the finest dining and nightlife in Astana. Our international and globally experienced Food & Beverage Team provides the best and most authentic culinary experiences. Located in the heart of Astana, Rixos Wellness & SPA is city's most luxurious retreat. A place to unwind, restore and invigorate the body and mind. Surrounded by gentle interiors, advanced fitness equipment, an expansive swimming pool, steam room, sumptuous treatment areas, it brings relaxation, wellness and fitness to the core. The Spa features relaxing treatment rooms as well as the sensual bathing retreats Hamam, which allows fully immerse in exotic Turkish ritual ambience. Relaxation lounge is the ideal place to have a rest between appointments. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments, including different types of massage, facials and body treatments. Rixos President Astana offers over 1,000 square meters of functional space, including seven meeting and event facilities to host official receptions, conferences, business and private meetings and banquets. Choose from our many distinguished venues, and our attentive staff will organize, oversee and deliver every last detail of your event, conference or special occasion. Discover flexible spaces that adapt perfectly to your meeting purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing