We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet and cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagilik - Books & Coffee

Eagilik - Books & Coffee
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A unique coffee shop with library/bookstore in the heart of the old city. Attractive Kazakh-American decor with popular American-style homemade baked goods and fresh coffee makes it the perfect place to meet friends, read, or just catch up on email.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
“Sweet and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Like the whole atmosphere, reminds me of American style bookstores
They also serve nice desserts and drinks
I recently returned from the States and was wondering if I can teach English part time
Is it possible to meet up with the owner and talk this over?

Very best regards,
Aida

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Aida,
Glad you found us because our baked goods will surely remind you of being in the US.
I don't know if we need a teacher now but we're always interested in finding good teachers. I've talked with Ainur, the director of the courses, and told her you might be calling. Please tell her you're the one who gave the Trip Advisor review. Our number is 200-801.
Kind regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Big Spring
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent iced drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Drive over to Eagilik today. Had an excellent mint iced coffee. My son had a tropical smoothie. We were both pleased! The barista spoke English and we had no problems ordering. Highly recommend for anyone missing their fraps from the states! I found this coffee shop on trip advisor and made the trip over to check it out specifically. Glad we did!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eyespy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Eyespy31!
I hope people take your advice and visit Eagilik today!! Good to know the staff are speaking English (because they can) and that they made you feel so at home. That's what we try to do. Each month Aigul our manager will create a new drink to offer. If you have a favorite that you haven't seen at Eagilik, please talk to Aigul. She just might make it our next special drink.
Please invite your friends and your son's friends next time.
Enjoy the rest of the summer!
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Casual & comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Love this place. Nice casual atmosphere, good library/bookstore with something interesting for everyone, tasty treats--mostly American homemade style, and great coffee made to your taste. Atmosphere reminded me of little university campus cafes. Please don't change that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sto_kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear STO_KZ,,
Thank you for your positive review! We don't plan to change the atmosphere and are so glad you liked it. We do like to improve and expand our recipes from time to time. If you have a favorite you would recommend, we're open for suggestions.
Hope your summer was enjoyable.
Keep coming to visit!
Martha - for all of us at Eagilik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Cakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This store has great American coffee and cakes. Only store with American style desserts and books in English. Most of the Books are donated by expats living in Astana when they depart, so not much selection yet. They are working on it though. It is definitely the closest thing to Barnes and Noble in Kazakhstan.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Melanie C!
I'm so glad you are enjoying our American style pastries! Thanks for reviewing. We definitely aren't Barnes & Nobles, but we probably have more heart. : ) Hope you were able to find some good books to read. There are certainly a lot I'd still like to read.
Kind regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inviting and relaxing place to hang out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

As you walk in, the smell of fresh baked goodies entices you to head straight back to the coffee bar and sample some delicious cakes. The atmosphere is inviting - mood music mixed with good eats. It's a great place to hang out on your own and get some computer work done, or, better yet, bring some friends and enjoy a little competition as you play games and snack. Most of the staff speak English and are very friendly. The library has a great selection of books and DVDs for English speakers. Our kids enjoy sitting on the couches and looking through books, watching the fish in the big tank and taste-testing something yummy from the bakery shelf.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank TV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear TV P!
Thank you for your review in March. I'm so glad you mentioned bringing your kids because it lets people know that we are a kid friendly place! We're glad you feel comfortable at Eagilik and hope you will tell your friends about us. It might be a great place to have a coffee with other moms on a weekday. Anyway, we're grateful for your business and look forward to serving you.
Best regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagilik - Books & Coffee also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Eagilik - Books & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing