We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sadu

Sadu
Ranked #167 of 857 Restaurants in Astana
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I discovered Sadu when visiting the Keruen shopping centre and decided to try it out on a Saturday evening in late April after a hard day walking round the sights in this fast-developing city. Located at the front of the shopping centre, large picture windows overlook the plaza of the Emerald Quarter. When it is warmer, it must be a nice view.
Despite warnings that it can be full at weekends Sadu had only a handful of diners. I had a choice of tables in the well furnished restaurant.
I chose veal tenderloin from the quite extensive menu, with a side order of fries, plus a glass of white wine.
The veal arrived quite a while later and appeared to have been freshly prepared which perhaps accounted for the slow delivery. In any event, some bruschetta had been brought as an appetiser on the house. Nice touch.
The veal was cooked expertly and had a rich mushroom sauce. It was tasty. The fries, despite probably being frozen, were good.
I rounded off my meal with a creme brulee with berries that was great.
Like most restaurants in the business quarter of this wind blown city, Sadu is not cheap. But the food appears to be reliable and the waiting staff understand basic English, which is useful if, like me, you have neither Kazakh or Russian!
I recommend Sadu and will return, should I travel to Astana in the future.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Hawkhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good food, service is a bit slow but friendly. A cosy place in the depths of winter with very nice soups as well as other good international options.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyGirly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The restaurant is very good indeed. An extensive menu (not everything is available at any one time) and attentive, polite service. The food is brought in a timely and orderly fashion and is extremely tasty. The pudding menu is very good indeed but the real triumph is the tea menu. 2 pages of different types of tea are available and all tasty. They are brought to the table in stylish glass teapots and free refills are available.

The cafe, however, is another story. Presenting a more 'light bites/fast food' menu of pizza's sandwiches and burgers. The food is tasty but the service is very slow. Many items are not available, particularly on the cakes menu. This decline has been exacerbated by the success of the excellent Maronne Rosso in the same building which has taken a lot of the business from the Sadu cafe. A shame.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ErsatzExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Good food and nice ambience winter and summer (especially summer). Food is varied and cooked right. In winter you may have italian cook. Wine selection is ample. Prices on the high side.

Helpful?
Thank Satriale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Astana for me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I totally agree with the other review that mentioned how they treat you as a solo diner. The service made you feel like a valued diner, rather than someone who was hogging a table. (other establishments in Astana take note)
Visited twice mainly because the food and atmosphere could not be beaten for that neighbourhood.
It is pricey, but the food was very good and the fruit juice was just the pick me up I needed on a sunny afternoon for lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissElainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sadu also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Sadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing