We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely outside dinning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafestar

Cafestar
Ranked #14 of 857 Restaurants in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely outside dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Such a nice place and atmosphere, great salads, nice service and the location is wonderful in the summer-inside dinning looks good too. Will wait for the winter to do that one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service, let down by a poor main meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Superb service by diligent waiting staff was completely ruined by a very poor, overcooked main meal. Meeting a friend (both of us visiting Astana for different reasons) we planned a leisurely meal with a few drinks. The white gloved waiting staff were duly attentive, but not overly so, always ensuring that our glasses were full. However, in the seeming hurry to move us on, the main dish arrived before we had finished the entree (after also having an appetizer). The main dish I selected was chicken, and it was so terribly overcooked that it was tough - definitely amongst the worst chicken I've ever eaten. We were offered free desert, but didn't take up the offer. The price of the meal was definitely on the high side - bordering overly expensive (but part of that was due to the superb French wine - which was an absolute delight in a country that doesn't have good local wine).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SENEKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfull place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very expensive, but the best in Astana. Great kitchen. High-Level-Service will not make you dissapoint. Recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KuaT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Classy and a Touch Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Cafe Star is an excellent choice in Astana. The menu so far has not disappointed. From the appetizers to the desserts, I have been very pleased. The atmosphere is classy and the service is just about perfect. You, of course, pay for all of this, and that is the place's only drawback: it will make a bit of a dent in your wallet.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have been there a few times. Very good bar to take out your wife/girlfriend. Very nice environment. Nice drinks. I have eaten there once, but I cannot really give a proper evaluation because we had just something and it was just ok. Staff is good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafestar also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Cafestar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing