We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable steak as long as you're on company expenses”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Line Brew

Line Brew
Ranked #1 of 869 Restaurants in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Built to resemble a castle, this is a popular and pricey Western-Style eatery on Kenesary Sreet just past Pobeda street.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable steak as long as you're on company expenses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place has the reputation as the best steakhouse in Astana. The steak quality was fine but I rarely get a steak in KZ cooked the way I order it (pun intended). Medium is not too difficult or demanding, but it usually comes more well done - same at Line Brew. Good beer on tap but not the selection I was expecting from a brew pub - one house ale, one house wheat, then some name brand imports. Service was typical KZ, not with a smile. Live violin and guitar was nice. Expensive any way you look at it, make sure you can expense this one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank toma_nova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    145
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“TERRIBLE restaurant! AWFUL experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My family and I, we like trying new cuisines & flavours. We decided to go to LINE BREW as we wanted to eat kebabs and try some good food and we read for this place online and heard from friends despite the fact that it is very overpriced place in whole city.

It's very easy to find it, and very hard to park your car.

We reached the place at about 20:00 and as we tried making a reservation in advance and manager assured us that she will call us or put us to the waitlist, but at the end nobody neither called us nor they explained what were the reason for not putting us a waitline when we arrived there. When you get in, there's a lady (the boss I think) who helps you find a table. She was not friendly at all and she had an unpleasant looking on everyone all the time.

The place has dimmed colours minimal design and it looks too much used and dirty.

The order for 5 persons was: a plate of mixed kebabs, fries for a side fresh juice, beer, alcohol free mohito. The quality of the food was ok and the taste was alright but nothing unusual, special or exciting. The quantity on each dish was just moderate. But mohito was so spicy and disgusting, I can not explain. Seemed like they used dried lime and tried soften the spiciness by too much ice in it.

The service was absolutely disappointing. Despite the fact that we have been sat to the "VIP room" which even cost us extra fee, the waiter had extremely bad mood…so bad that they wereignoring us the whole evening. They annoyed us by ignoring the ring button and forgetting us everytime we ordered something for at least 20-30 minutes. So to refill the beer and get our kebabs it took them 55 minutes. In addition they could hardly notice us when we wanted something (water, more beer, the bill etc.). Awful awful service!!!

We spend around 150USD (although we ate and drunk almost nothing!!!) the price is not comparable to the food and service - too much money and disgusting service! After all these ignorance to the client, they charge you automatically 15% tips out of your order, which is totally unacceptable.They have no rights to do that and they have no motivation to satisfy their clients with a good service. In conclusion, the whole experience was not good, I would never go again to this place for any reason and I don't recommend this restaurant, not even to my worst enemy.

In a few words...you should better try some fast food out on the street rather than going in there. That bad!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We eat every so often, when we need a real steak and a night off cooking. Service is not very friendly, and they won't or can't speak English (only Russian). Food in KZ is always expensive, But the steaks are always good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nightmare in Astana”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Well we had been told good things about this venue! Soem of our experience may have been out of the control of the venue but how they handled it was within there control! we ordered the expensive beer and some expensive food, but the lights went out, after the grill filled the room and there had been little or no lights for 20 minutes a waitress ushered into another room, still in darkness apart from 3 candles for 8 tables. Well we finished our beer and for another 25 minutes nothing but then some food arrived. It consisted of 4 small chunks of chicken with a few pieces of salad, no chips or other stuff, we presumed they had been unable to cook, no apology no discussion no service to ask ? after 3 minutes it was gone, within seconds the bill arrived charged £20 or more !!!! Well we will not be returning there then! to add insult to injury we obviously smelt like we had been on a bonfire?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandJulieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
354 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Try the horsemeat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Horsemeat is a Kazakh specialty, so it is a must try. Nice restaurant , friendly staff, good beer selection and they brew their own lager which is very good by Kazakh beer standards. Food was tasty, though it must say the horse meat does have a very strong flavor. Enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Line Brew also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Line Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing