We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place except for the shower!”
Review of King Hotel Astana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Hotel Astana
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Astana
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place except for the shower!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is located in the old part of Astana, which is a good thing because the new part is deserted at night. The building is a mix of hotel rooms and rented or owned apartments.

My room was very nice and comfortable. It was large with a colourful yellow and blue decor and an excellent bed and even an armchair. Hi speed wi fi is available free in the room and there is an excellent desk, perfect for working on, except that there is no place to plug in your computer. The nearest plug in or recharge point is the bedside table at the opposite end of the room.

The bathroom is unusually large. The BIG problem here is you have to bathe in a tub which has no overhead shower or even a shower curtain. All you get is a hand spray with a short lead, so to shower you have to sit in the tub, hold the spray with one hand, and wash yourself with the other -- taking care not to splash water all over the floor. This is totally unsatisfactory and for this reason I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terrence o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    79
    59
    18
    9
See reviews for
2
12
10
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chateaugiron, France
Level Contributor
185 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed there on a business trip in Kazakhstan. I was lucky to get a nice and large room (a suite in fact), but know from a colleague staying with me there, that all rooms are not at the same level of quality. Mine was OK, poorly furnished, but clean. Breakfast is OK, but nothing more and staff are not particularly cheerful. I'll pick another place next time, for sure.

Room Tip: I stayed in the B tower - sounds like it is the best one (from A to C).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel rooms are big but I spent the first night sleeping all dressed up. The room was freezing despite my complaints. The next morning I had a change of room and it was warmer. The bathroom is big but no heating in it and so it is cold when you get out of the shower. The hotel seems new but it is not very well built. The wall paper was coming off and the carpet was not super fixed. In the end it is not a great deal. You can survive but I do not recommend for tourism.
The staff was very nice but there was one guy at the reception who didn't know what to do at all...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitefever_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Astana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayd here 2 days at november 2012. Hotel has good location, but you can't get center of Astana from the hotel without taxi. Hotel has too big rooms. It is strange, too much useless space. Bathroom has only bath, without shower, this is very inconvenient. Bathroom is very, very, very cold. Rooms in section C don't have wifi-you may it only in lobby.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days in november 2012. Hotel has good location, rather close to the centre of Astana, but hotel is located near to very noisy road. Rooms are too big, bathroom has enough space for billiard table :) Bathroom has only bath, no shower. For me it is not convinient

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed there for more than a week for an official business... what i enjoyed best were the wifi connection, the rooms are spacious and clean, toiletries and coffee/tea/bottled water are replenished everyday, comfortable bed, good location - near grocery stores/markets, few blocks from republic avenue... worst experience: got stuck in one elevator for about 10 minutes, sometimes the elevators malfunction-they didnt pass through our floor, need to go up in order to get down to the ground floor, the breakfast buffet was the same - got fed up by my third morning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babykoala79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a good hotel for his location. Besides the hotel is not new and you can see the signs of the time. In any case the staff is very kind and everybody at reception speak enghish. The room are large and confortable, moreover in the room there is a free corner-cafè including 2 bottles of water. There is the possibility to choose rooms for smokers and no-smokers. The breakfast, till to 10.30 am, is rich and you can find local and international food. in all room there is internet wifi and also the possibility to print some pages close to reception. You can also take a lunch and dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astana hotels
2.3 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#6 of 58 in Astana
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Hotel
Brown Hotel
#8 of 58 in Astana
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#5 of 58 in Astana
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
3.0 mi away
Red Village Hotel
Red Village Hotel
#15 of 58 in Astana
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel Astana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel Astana

Property: King Hotel Astana
Address: 7, Valikhanov str., Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Hotel Astana 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel Astana - it is the biggest hotel in Central Asia with 176 rooms and 299 apartments, capacity of which is for about 700 people. The hotel opened its doors on November 13, 2009 and is already popular for its excellent service, places of entertainment and leisure, as well as other services. Modern 4 -star King Hotel Astana is conveniently located in the heart of the cultural and business district of Astana that allows an active business activity in any part of the city. King Hotel Astana is a place for communication and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your King Hotel Astana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing