We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and charm”
Review of Grand Park Esil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Park Esil
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Grand Park Esil is a fine place to stay in Astana for a short trip. Well located to explore the city on foot, restaurants nearby, a plentiful and delicious breakfast. Clean rooms. Pleasant and helpful service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLJ60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Manager at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leaving the valuable for us comments on TripAdvisor for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you liked our nice location, breakfast, helpful service and clean rooms.

Our entire team hope to see you soon again at the Grand Park Esil Hotel.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Grand Park Esil
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Average Soviet style hotel but offers good service,the rooms are very basic but clean and service is very friendly. Located in centre of city, a decent option to stay when compared to over priced hotels in Astana city.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank RP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Manager at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Esil Hotel and for sharing your experience with us and other TripAdvisor travelers. Your comment is very valuable for us and gives us a great motivation to provide even better service.

We are happy to hear that you liked the Hotel’s location, clean rooms, good quality of service and price.

Our entire team is looking forward to greeting you at Grand Park Esil Hotel at your next visit to Astana.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed in the Esil twice ( October and November) in 2013. In comparison to the Rixos in Astana where I also stayed twice recently, the Esil has a more agreeable location close to a number of restaurants and shops and it also has lower prices. The service is pleasant and the food is simple and of reasonable quality. The downside is the small rooms which are still redolent of the hotel's Soviet past. Brown seems to be the colour of choice upstairs. Do not expect luxurious toiletries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalkeyIsland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Esil Hotel and for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Your opinion is very important for us for a constant improving the level of our services.

We are glad to hear you liked our nice location, pleasant service and good quality of food.

You are right in our standard rooms the toiletries are simple, however when our guests have requests for additional toiletries we are always ready to be helpful as much as possible, just necessary to call to Reception.

Our entire team hopes to have an opportunity to serve you again at your future visit to Astana;

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Grand Park Esil is by far the largest remaining building from pre-1917 times in the old part of Astana, from times it was called Akmola. It must have been seat of the Russian administration when it intensified control over Kazakhstan in the 1870s. Around are representative buildings from the independence era which have been assigned new (less important, but still representative) functions after the new, space ship-like, part of Astana started to function.

The hotel was renovated a few years ago and has currently a good standard. Rooms are small, sparsely decorated with the exception of a nice oil-on-canvas-replique of some Paris impressionst. Bed and bath were perfectly okay. The room service had a perfect start but declined a bit over the week I stayed there.

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere. The breakfast is good (despite the coffee), the menu for lunch and dinner varies in quality - I had a great salmon that could have been found in a 5* hotel in Europe on one and university canteen level veggie dumblings on the other day, but the average is okay.

There was no real spa, the fitness room was the only room which retained some kind of "Soviet" feeling for my impression, being overly functional, stuffed with equipment and not very private.

I was invited and neither decided nor paid for the hotel, but the prices I have seen seem maybe a bit high, but at the end reasonable for Central Asia.

Nevertheless, all things together, it is a hotel I can recommend, especially for those who want to sleep well but prefer a house with character to perfect standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Grand Park Esil Hotel and the valuable comments regarding your experience with us, which are important for constant improving the level of our services.

We are delighted you liked bed and bath in our rooms, nice atmosphere in the restaurant and good breakfast. We appreciate very much you have recommended our Hotel and pointed out the historical character of our house.

Our F & B team is informed about your suggestions and we will strive to keep always the high standard in menu, and do not let any variation happened. Concerning the spa, we are planning a renovation of the gym, sauna and swimming pool next year.

The entire team of Grand Park Esil Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you at our Hotel at your next visits to Astana. Should you have any questions or issues for our assistance, please feel free to contact us at your convenience,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is nice, not too far from different places to eat, if you do not want to eat at hotel's restaurants which were good too. Breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly. Biggest minus was the tiny room: only place to open the suitcase was the bed. Cleaning was well done, and the other services were good too. Free gym, sauna and pool are a plus, and so is the outdoor restaurant. Extra plus for upstairs bar's pianist. Astana News in English was available at lobby. No problem to come again, but now I would choose bigger room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dnapekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your staying at Grand Park Esil Hotel and sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor travelers.

We are delighted to know that you liked our location, breakfast and outdoor restaurant, cleaning and friendly staff, which are providing good services. And we are happy to hear that you enjoyed with free gym, sauna and swimming pool. Also we are glad that you liked our Polo bar with pianist at the 2nd floor.
Regarding the room, we would be glad to offer a bigger room at your next visit to Astana and our entire team is looking forward to welcome you at Grand Park Esil Hotel.

Please feel free to contact to us for any further assistance.

Sincerely yours,
Erhan Ozpinar
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Salads, soups, items familiar to westerners. English menu. Quiet music. Inside the hotel is tastefully done with an amazingly good gift shop for its size. Quality in an understated way. Frequent travelers have found comfort and refuge here for extended stays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with Grand Park Esil Hotel and for this positive feedback which is very valuable for us. We are very happy that you liked our nice outdoor restaurant and gift shop and found comfortable our Hotel for extended stays..
Our entire staff is looking forward to welcoming you back again during your next travel to Astana.

Sincerely yours,
Erhan Ozpinar
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've been staying in the Grand Park Esil every 1-2 month since 2011. This is a good hotel in the center of "old city" of Astana. UN and OSCE offices are just next door. Lots of restaurants and shops around. Good food in the hotel's restaurant, and excellent room service.
The hotel has a small gym, pool and sauna.
Conference facilities and services are excellent.
And Polo bar on the 2nd floor is a great place to relax after a tough workday.

Room Tip: All non-smoking rooms are located on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatherineIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and preference given to Grand Park Esil Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoy staying at our hotel and so happy to see you touched on our best central location, excellent services and conference facilities, good food and nice Health club. Also we are very glad that you liked our Polo bar on the 2nd floor.

We hope you will be back soon and give us the opportunity to provide you the great service again.
.


Sincerely yours,
Erhan Ozpinar
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.8 mi away
King Hotel Astana
King Hotel Astana
#9 of 61 in Astana
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
3.0 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#5 of 61 in Astana
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#8 of 61 in Astana
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
2.1 mi away
Jumbaktas Hotel
Jumbaktas Hotel
#10 of 61 in Astana
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Esil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Esil

Address: Beybitshilik 8, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Astana
#5 Business Hotel in Astana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range: $64 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Esil 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Park Esil is a four star Hotel in Astana. The Hotel has 126 room with air-conditioning system, separate water reservoir, diesel generator and boiler for uninterrupted cold and hot water and electrical power supply. It is located at the Central Square of the capital of Kazakhstan, nearby the governmental offices, museums, banks, shopping malls, and river promenade and park area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Esil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Esil Hotel Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing