We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manor House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 331 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting much more for the price I paid and for the prices they charge for Phnom Penh. Although the room was very clean the furnishings were a hodge podge of what looked to be "hand me downs" they picked up off the street. The staff were very friendly and accommodating however the owner was not. He appeared genuinely disinterested and was quite "stand offish". It's almost as if he's either tired or has lost interest in the hospitality business. Can't say I would ever stay there again or recommend this place to anyone, there is much better value and service for dollar in Phnom Penh

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank CanadianFlashPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPhnomPenh, Owner at Manor House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear YouHaveToBekidding,
Thank you for taking the time to review Manor House.
However, having dealt with the public for over 40 years I realize that I cannot please everyone, particularly with your nickname of “YouHaveToBekidding”. Having read your other reviews (4 negative reviews out of 5) on highly rated establishments, I feel it would be difficult to please you.
“Furnishings were a hodge podge of what looked to be "hand me downs" they picked up off the street”….. You have to be kidding!!!! Each of our rooms are individually decorated to a standard fitting our price range within Phnom Penh.
I urge prospective guests to read the many positive reviews of myself and of Manor House in general.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 327 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not so far from the city centre (tuk-tuk available outside), it's a beautiful house with a little garden with a small but comfortable swimming pool. Rooms are quite spacious normally furnished. Breakfast well prepared. The staff is kind. Nothing wrong but even nothing really special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had an enyoyable 5 night stay at this small friendly hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the location is just out of the main tourist drag and the pool is awesome. The best thing about the place is the staff. From the maid service to reception, the tuk tk drivers to the bar staff, all were genuinely friendly and welcoming. Ive never felt as comfortable as quickly in any other hotel. Its a small enterprise that offers personiased service. If you want to be just a number and unrecognised, this isnt the place. Breakfast is on 6 to 12 so there is no chamce of missing it. Delivery is available from many resturants if thats what your after. They offer same day laundry and a very competitve price. Basically, 2hy stay at a dodgy guesthouse when probably for the same price you can stay here. As for gay friendly - its everyone friendly. During my stay there were all different people from all over enjoying thier stay. I will be staying here the next time in Phenom Penh for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockyrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a few weeks of working in rural areas around Siem Reap a friend suggested we stay at Manor House. We ended up booking the deluxe room to treat ourselves to a bit of comfort.
I have to say this is JUST what we needed. We had a wonderful time. The staff are fantastic and so friendly. Always willing to help at any stage. The location is quite central and yet at the same time behind the gates you feel hidden away from the craziness of Phnom Penh! The pool area is great for chatting and meeting other guests (some who we are now in constant contact with as good friends).
Thank you to David and SK and all the staff at Manor House for making our time with you so enjoyable! We will be back soon!
P.S These guys make a mean Black Russian!!!!

Room Tip: The deluxe room.....INCREDIBLE!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LilRedFoxSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Manor House is a very friendly and welcoming gay-friendly place to stay in Phnom Penh. A two-minute walk from Independence Monument and many nice restaurants and bars and just a five-minute tuktuk ride from the old town and its sights, it is well located. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is fresh. And the owner and his staff make you feel very welcome.
I enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukkaSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have just completed a most enjoyable 5 days in Phnom Penh. What a wonderful city. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Manor House. It is very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the pool/cafe area is a great place for meeting other guests and swapping travel ideas and experiences at the end of a day's sightseeing. I would happily stay here again - in fact, I think it's highly likely I will!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Peaceful residence in the centre of the city. It's about a 20 min walk to the river front where most of the action is but still plenty of bars & restaurants nearbye. There is always a tuk tuk outside if you prefer not to walk. Staff were very helpful & gave me directions to get a visa. I was travelling to Vietnam next day and managed to get a visa within 24 hours from the travel agency around the corner. Had trouble with my safe but they sorted it out straight away. I stayed in the cheapest standard room and it was large with bathroom. Basic but just what I needed although I felt the rooms were a bit expensive(compared to Siem Reap). Staff were very approachable and understood my english. I felt I was speaking to friends which made me relax more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 270 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 270 in Phnom Penh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel

Address: #21, Street 262 | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $29 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House is a charming 12 room Art Deco styled Boutique Hotel on Street 262 which is just a five minute walk from Independence Monument. If you want a genuinely unique experience in a hotel that is truly Boutique, and not a large hotel that calls itself Boutique, then we are the place for you. We are hotel that provides a full service in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All guests must be 18 years and over. Nestled within a completely private tropical garden, Manor House provides a tranquil setting for our guests to enjoy a cool drink beside our stunning saltwater swimming pool, or simply relax in our garden lounge area. Breakfast is included with most room rates. A comprehensive food and drinks menu is available throughout the day, until late. We are more than happy to negotiate a cheaper rates for extended stays (3 weeks or more). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing