We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manor House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. The Manor House is centrally located, in a closed compound. The guest rooms are air conditioned, mini bar, ceiling fan, spacious, TV with DVD player, kettle with coffee and tea, lots of electrical outlets for recharging your iPads, computers and phones, shower with an adjustable temperature water heater, large bathroom, excellent cleaning staff. Breakfast is at the pool-side until 11 am - an extra hour from what seems to be the standard, and it is included in the room rate. Bora cooks eggs, bacon and tomato to order, cereals, fresh fruit, coffee and tea, yoghurt, toast, jam, butter (real) and peanut butter are all self-serve, but often Bora anticipates your wishes. In the lobby are a book exchange and library of DVD's. I liked the one-day, very nicely priced laundry service. Beverage service at the pool-side in the evening until 11 pm. There is a list of cocktails, but I don't think that particular training module has taken place. On arrival, seeing me walk with a cane, owner Dave immediately switched my room to the ground floor, which was very much appreciated. Plenty of nearby restaurants for the evening, but you can also ask them to call for delivery from many restaurants - the menus are available. Om Traditional Massage is a short walking distance, but they will send a therapist to the hotel at no extra charge. Outside are a couple of prescreened tuk tuks. Mr. Kim, 002, cheerfully took me wherever I wanted to go, including the 15 km ride to The Killing Fields. This is a great place. I will not look further when coming back to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: I rated room service as excellent - the list of restaurants providing delivery is extensive, deliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    100
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
97
121
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at The Manor House for two nights after reading great reviews, our initial thoughts were positive, (nicely decorated foyer and greeting by the staff) but soon changed!! We booked mainly because of the 'gay friendly' reviews, as a female couple travelling we thought this would be a safe, friendly, pleasant environment. We encountered quite the opposite; rude, uptight, old western gay men who seemed to exploiting young gay Cambodians. It was distasteful and not the 'gay friendly' atmosphere we are used to. Very expensive for what it was, definitely not for backpackers (David seemed to frown upon this!). Waste of money! Other reviews (possibly his friends!!) gave the impression David was helpful and informative on the local area/Phnom Penh, again we found the total opposite, when we asked about places to eat we were handed a book with food deliveries available! We came to see Phnom Pehn!! Luckily we found a helpful tuk tuk driver. On the plus side, the young Cambodians who worked there were great, and the breakfast was okay. For a fraction of the price, we have stayed in amazing other places including a hot spring spa resort! You can get much more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPhnomPenh, Owner at Manor House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I find it very disappointing when a guest does not enjoy their stay at Manor House, particularly when I went of my way to assist these guests. I feel guests should not make assumptions and then make comments on other guests particularly saying “seemed to exploiting young gay Cambodians“ which is certainly incorrect This reviewer asked for food to eat in … they were handed a Door to Door restaurant book also a map of local restaurants with-in a 5 minute walk. Our room pricing is competitive with other Guest Houses in Phnom Penh with similar facilities and is clearly explained on our website and on all the booking agencies.
I also feel this reviewer has not addressed the real issue.
We pride ourselves in providing a safe, friendly, homely environment for all of our guests and encourage people to look at the many positive responses on Trip Advisor. Also we do not ask guests to do a review on trip advisor.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in a number of other places in Phnom Penh and while they have been good none of them has been a patch on the Manor Houe. The staff under the new owner, David were helpful and welcoming. David himself is very hospitable and had that great trick of knowing just at what level to pitch his recommendations and service to ensure satisfaction with his hotel and the local area.

The location although not central is great as it has a lot of quality facilities in the area, which is what you want after a day of frenetic Phnom Penh activity, there is a good range of eating places and there are always drivers, motos and TukTuks outside.

I highly recommend it, especially the pool and the local coffee shops (not that there's a problem with Cambodian coffee much, it's just that there are some significant opportunities I this area).

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Droll_Pineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Manor House after visiting 2 years ago under different management.

You just can't beat the value for money with this place.

As others have mentioned, it's a great location, clean rooms, a refreshing pool in tropical surroundings and helpful and friendly staff.

David has done a great job taking over from Greg, the last owner, who set the bar high. David really cares about his guests and shares lots of great info about where to eat and visit.

On our way back through Phnom Penh, we stayed at Villa Paradiso, which was almost 3 times the cost of the Manor House and at the time the #1 B & B in PP. In all honesty, we really couldn't see the value in paying so much more and regretted not staying at the Manor House.

Can't wait to return to the Manor House again, hopefully next year. Thank you David and staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumpy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed at Manor House for 8 weeks between October and December 2012. It was the perfect home from home, located in a safe and central area of Phnom Penh. David and his team were unfailingly polite, charming and friendly. There was a good mix of other guests - men and women, gay and straight - and there always seemed to be someone to chat to or link up with for an evening out or a day trip out of town. The place was spotless, with clean sheets and towels daily, and the swimming pool kept clean throughout the day. Breakfast included fresh watermelon, papaya, pineapple and banana as well as cooked eggs/bacon/tomato to order. The free bottled water in the rooms and on tap outside was very convenient. I stayed in a standard room on the first floor, overlooking the swimming pool, which was spacious and quiet. The air conditioning was modern and effective and there was also a ceiling fan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was my second stay at Manor House as the first was so enjoyable. Davis, Sokan and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay as pleasurable as they can. I stayed in the deluxe room which are large, bright and clean. There is a TV and mini bar in the room as well as a separate bathroom. There iS also a bar next to the pool where breakfast is also served. David can arrange any trips you would like to do as well as airports transfers. There are also tuk tuk drivers outside who are happy to take you anywhere you wish. I have stayed in other hotels in Phnom Penh prior to finding this one but have found them more expensive and their customer service not as good. As a lone traveller I also feel safe here. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay and looking forward to staying there on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask the management team for the best places to eat. They have given me suggestions that I would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoboBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here at Manor House for a couple of nights. The staff are helpfull and curteous. Transportation is usually nearby. The rooms are spacious with bathroom, TV , mini-bar and wi-fi. The pool is a beautiful place to sit and use the pool or just relax on at the loungers. We used their laundry service and it was done the same day. Has breafast service as well, which was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saigon_chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 267 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 267 in Phnom Penh
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#46 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel

Property: Manor House Boutique Hotel
Address: 262 #21 Street | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House is a charming 12 room Art Deco styled Boutique Hotel on Street 262 which is just a five minute walk from Independence Monument. If you want a genuinely unique experience in a hotel that is truly Boutique, and not a large hotel that calls itself Boutique, then we are the place for you. We are hotel that provides a full service in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All guests must be 18 years and over. Nestled within a completely private tropical garden, Manor House provides a tranquil setting for our guests to enjoy a cool drink beside our stunning saltwater swimming pool, or simply relax in our garden lounge area. Breakfast is included with most room rates. A comprehensive food and drinks menu is available throughout the day, until late. We are more than happy to negotiate a cheaper rates for extended stays (3 weeks or more). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing