We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel but staff are unprofessional, tried to scam us with extremely highy private car hire prices with their personal ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Mansions
Ranked #63 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but staff are unprofessional, tried to scam us with extremely highy private car hire prices with their personal ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

When we arrived the receptionist staff had an indifferent attitude to greet us and check us in. The staff who showed us our room did not mention we had to flick a specific switch for hot water and when we enquiried reception about this they told us it would take 5 - 10 minutes of running the water before it would become hot, however we left the water running for over 20 minutes and it remained barely lukewarm and we had an almost cold shower.

What was most astonishing about the service here is that when we enquiried the night staff member about how much it would cost to go to sihnoukville he called his contacts and laughed with them etc on the phone (obviously they were friends/ regular business contacts) and then told us it would cost $140 one way when we know it should cost approx
$40-$60 max. He was clearly trying to scam us and would get a big fat cut from it. We declined and wanted to go back to our room to rest as it was really late but he was very persistent and wasted almost 20 minutes of our time trying to sell us this ride and called his other contacts insisting that was the market rate. Then, as we walked away towards the lift to go to our room he followed us like people do on the streets trying to sell you things. This is really unorofessional as hotel staff arr supposed to help you not scam their guests! The next day we asked the morning reception staff about the private car to sihnoukville and he charged us $60 which is also the higher end price from what we have read from travellers' reviews.

One night we needed a tuk tuk driver but as it was late and the location was quite secluded there were only two around but neither were manned. The night staff offered to take us by tuk tuk not sure why he had a tuk tuk, anyway we were going to tip him $5 when we got back to the hotel (the rate was $2 -$3 for the 5min ride) as we were in a hurry at the time he dropped us off as we lost something and needed to go find it. I was surprised that he asked for money when we got off the tuk tuk with the hand gesture of rubbing fingers together for "money". We asked how much, he said $3, we didn't have change and have him $5, he paused for a long moment to suggest tipping himself $2 knowing we were in a rush to find our lost belonging. We gave it to him but had he not asked we would have glady tipped him the $5. I was shocked that hotel staff would ask for money like that when it is a service they provide and of course in that specific case, guest should tip for the extra work they are doing for you, and we definitely would have. I would recommend having small change in $1 notes because often tuk tuk drivers including this hotel staff member pretend they don't have change and when it's $1, $2 or $3 they bet on you just saying don't worry about it/ for you/ tip etc.

Another stuff up by the hotel was giving us only one breakfast voucher for one person even though our booking included breakfast for two people. When we brought this to reception staff's attention after trying to have breakfast at the restaurant, they took their time checking and arguing as opposed to just giving us the 2nd bloody breafkast voucher.

The hotel itself is beautifully furnished, modern, clean with two pools and a small gym. The room was spacious, it was actually an apartment as opposed to a hotel room as it had a full kitchen and lounge area.

The location was hidden away near the US embassy and many of our tuk tuk drivers could not find it. It was not as central as we would normally stay.

All in all, for $90 a night compared $40 - $50 alternatives which seemed clean and decent was a big price to pay for the service /
scam we received in return. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chi11n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
8
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Pros:
1) Facility: A very nice 2 bedroom setup with a common living room and kitchen works well for families. The apartment comes with with well appointed furniture and high quality bathroom fixtures.
Amenities: The hotel pool and gym facilities are nice and the overall feel of the building is adequately upscale.

Cons:
1) currency exchange (from Singapore or other non-US$ currencies),
2) change for large US notes ($50+)
3) being available to answer the phone since a lot of local drivers are challenged with finding their way (hotel is in a very good location, but drivers in PP are challenged)
4) Food options for dining were limited
5) Hotel should provide soap, and offer better quality shampoos/conditioner given the price

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed for a week and I liked this place. Here is my take on the pros and cons in no particular order:

Pros

1. Large, comfortable, clean apartments, newly renovated to a high standard
2. Very comfortable beds with good bedding
2. Nice, high class building, looks very nice at night with the pool lit up, will impress any visitors
3. Reasonably fast internet
4. Strong walk-in showers with very good hot water, as long as you turn on the switch
5. Staff was helpful but non-intrusive

Cons

1. I don't love the location, you can't really walk to anything except the US Embassy. It's not a bad location but it's not great. Reasonably short tuk tuk ride to the riverside.
2. No "bum guns" in the bathrooms
3. If you're on a low floor overlooking the pool, you can get noise from kids playing and splashing in the pool. Also, some of the rooms overlook a school, low floor rooms can get noise from the school playground, though it's not too bad
4. Housekeeping service was erratic. My rate included daily housekeeping service, some days they wouldn't come until very late in the day, or they would bang on the door at 9 a.m. and when asked to return at a later hour they wouldn't come back. The apartments appear to have "DND/please make up the room" red and green lights outside the door to signal housekeeping; my apartment had no switch I could find to turn on these lights
5. Although internet is fast you have to re-log in whenever you stop using the internet for 5 minutes or more.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Fantastic apartments near Central Market, excellent condition rooms and high quality fit out through out, pricy for Phnom Penh but worth it. Pools are nice and relaxing, not much direct sun though, breakfast was tasty, a bit more selection would be great. Bed was very comfortable and kitchen well decked out, TV channel selection was good, more English entertainment channels would be great.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cambodia always reminds me of good hospitality and smiling faces of locals. Though city of Phenom Penh attracting lot of tourists and foreign investments but the place is still reminds me of a beautiful village.
Central Mansions was known as colonial mansion few months back when I had my long stay from Oct 2012 to March 2013. Very nice place in town to stay and do whatever you want to. Staff is good and every other facility is there.
There can be more options included for breakfast but then there are so many available just near by to the river side.
This place reminds me of old times when people spend their lives in utmost comfort, Central Mansion can provide you that comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmpradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

まずは、建物全体の雰囲気がとても落ち着いていて、お洒落です。短期滞在でも、リラックス出来る空間があるので、落ち着きます。ジムやプールもコンパクトなので、便利です。
Over all the building, the atomosphere is quite good. There are a lot of space in the room, so I could have a relaxed time even my short stay.
The gym and the pool is quite compact, so it is convenient to use.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookieskunimitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was the most enjoyable stay throughout the trip. Not because it was new property (recently renovated) but the guest service is good! Unfortunately they only serve simple breakfast i.e. sandwich. Dinner and lunch you have to settle at the nearest restaurant or cafe. This service apartment is in a very strategic location and is very near to the night market. Will suggest you to rent a bike. Got a 2 bedded suite and the room is very new! It comes with kitchen and living room. Recommended to family and long stay traveler. Will definitely come back in future!

Room Tip: Get a 2 bedded suite if you travel with family and they only serve simple breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#30 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#50 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#34 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#35 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mansion 51 Hotel & Apartment
Mansion 51 Hotel & Apartment
#126 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Mansions

Property: Central Mansions
Address: 1A & 1B Street 102 | A-One Building, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Mansion - Serviced Apartment Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing