We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose the right room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Langka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Langka
Ranked #23 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Choose the right room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel in a decent location in central Phnom Penh. We chose it because of the great reviews it got on Trip Advisor. However, make sure when booking that you check your room assignment. You do not want a lettered room - these are A, B, and C, which are all in the central "courtyard" (actually a stairwell), with no windows to the outside. What they don't tell you is that they back up practically right to the kitchen, so it's very loud. Lots of people constantly walking past, and lots of commotion from very early in the morning. The rooms are nice, some of the nicest bathrooms we had in all of our trip. Just make sure you know which room you are getting - the others seem great. The pool is beautiful and the staff warmed up as time went on (they were a bit chilly when we first arrived). I would recommend this place, just not the back rooms. $55 a night seemed quite steep for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alissa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    409
    115
    19
    6
See reviews for
137
394
115
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

I have visited Cambodia for many years and I am so pleased that at last there is such a gorgeous place to stay.. The Villa Langka is situation just behind Watt Langka, a Buddhist temple whose peaked golden roofs are the view from the salt water pool in the lush garden/ restaurant. Each room has been individually designed with a antique French /Khmer furniture and four poster beds. The restaurant is excellent French/ fusion food, I particularly recommend the baked oysters and crispy noodle duck salad. The deserts are to die for! All the staff where charming and helpful. The only hard part was leaving!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nina039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

Pretty little hotel with friendly staff and outstanding food in a nice setting. Good location for sight-seeing. The tuk-tuk drivers hanging outside were a blast! We took turns taking each of them to different places within the city.

Our upstairs room with balcony was HUGE. Comfy bed, great shower, very private. Only complaint was the floors of our room, which felt gritty because the grout work was all over the place. But no big deal, it was spotlessly clean. Lots of kiddies in the pool while we were there, having fun.

Breakfasts were amazing - the best croissants, scrumptious egg dishes, fresh jams, great coffee.

Quiet location, relaxed setting, recommended.

  • Liked — Location, food, huge room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

Villa Langka was a great.. We stayed in a mid size room. The rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and charming. The whole establishment has been decorated with a lovely attention to detail and offers the guest an oasis amongst the chaos of Phnom Penh. The hotel staff told me prior to booking that it was 15minute walk to the Royal Palace, which I'd have to wonder if they were wearing rollerblades! Its certainly a tuk tuk distance especially in the heat of the day. We had a motorbike so the distance presented no issues however if you are on foot you will need to travel up and back to the Tourist area by some other mode of transport beside foot. There are a number of really good, cute restaurants at the end of the street as an alternative to those in the Riverside. We only had 3 days in PP and enjoyed the Villa and the neighbourhood it was located in (french colonial) but we spent most of our time at the Riverside tourist area....so depends on what you are looking for. If you have a bike, it's perfect.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenB-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

New hotel well located near the Independance monument. Very clean room with nice pool and fairly good continental breakfast. It is a good break from the busy streets around and staff is friendly and helpful. You can find better price/quality ratio than this but it still is a good deal.

  • Liked — Clean room, nice garden, good breakfast
  • Disliked — A little noisy between rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vallaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

This is a new hotel in what is often called the NGO district. This area is popular with travellers and expats amd is very close to the major tourist attractions such as the royal Palace and Museum.

I am sure this will become a top 3 Phnom Penh hotel in Trip Advisor. We moved here after a couple of nights at the revolting Billabong Hotel and the difference was incredible. For a few dollars less we were in a much better location with brand new rooms, beautiful clean linen, wrap around balconies, a modern and clean pool, a restaurant to die for that is operated by the French owner and was extraordinarily good value. The room was large and clean, complete with mosquito nets which are often needed.

The people who stayed here were friendly towards the staff, which isn't always the case in Cambodia as it can attract some quite ugly types of people who complain about the service and are frustrated by the lack of English. Villa Langka is nothing like this! Thankfully the staff are very friendly, everything works well and the porters go out of their way to make you and any of your visitors welcome.

I'll be staying here everytime I go to Cambodia now.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

Villa Langka is new and not listed in many places - we were lucky enough to be referred to it by another guesthouse that was full. It's absolutely beautiful - mosaic floors, a great pool with big chairs and beds, indoor and outdoor seating areas for breakfast (or other meals). Our room was also great - high ceilings, canopy bed with simple, stylish netting around it, and an amusingly modern bathroom. There was a safe and a fridge, both of which are handy in Phnom Penh.

Breakfast was included and delicious, especially the baked stuff.

The location is fine, and it's easy to get anywhere in town in a taxi or tuk-tuk.

The staff was friendly and fairly helpful. I assume it's gay-friendly, because we were referred to it by a guesthouse that's explicitly gay-friendly.

There are a few kinks, which seem to be based on the place (and staff) being new. For example, there was no blanket in the room, and when we asked for one the second day, they brought us duvets without covers, one of which wasn't very clean.

But overall, this place was a beautiful oasis and a pleasure to come back to at night.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nks_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.3 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#40 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
the 252
the 252
#11 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Langka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Langka

Property: Villa Langka
Address: No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Langka 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Boutique Hotel in an oasis of calm, Villa Langka offers a private hideaway in central Phnom Penh.Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Villa Langka Boutique Hotel overlooks the ancient spires of Wat Langka Pagoda and is located just around the corner from the Independence Monument and the popular street 278, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Villa Langka Boutique Hotel offers 48 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 24 rooms in a traditional khmer villa and 24 rooms in a contemporary building.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility.Ideal location and atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Langka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Langka Hotel Phnom Penh
Langka Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing