We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is Villa Langka resting on its laurels?”
Review of Villa Langka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Langka
Ranked #24 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The service was professional and overall good.
The deluxe room reasonably large but there were signs of wear and tear in the bedroom (wall decoration stickers were torn and falling off) and in the bathroom (cracks in the sink, rusted shampoo and soap dispensers). The pillow cases were rather yellowish/grey rather than white but the rest of the linen was ok. The mattress is firm but not too hard.
The room was clean but extensively sprayed with room freshener which can be quite suffocating. Overall the room lacks of atmosphere and was very similar any hotel in this price category. The TV is mounted on the wall opposite the bed but can not be oriented so that it can be watched from the sofa bed. The Chinese wooden chairs in the room, although gracious, are horribly uncomfortable.
The room on the third floor offers a great view of Phnom Penh but there are no shades/blinds hence the continuous use of AC is mandatory. Choosing a room on a lower floor where you can benefit from tree's shade is probably wiser.
Breakfast buffet was limited and of average quality: white bread, caned juice, unappealing fried eggs and omelet/beans/bacon (all prepared in advance and sitting in a stainless steal container with food warmer), sour (possibly home made) yogurt but good fruits.
The location was perfect, very central and away from most of the construction sites. However, note that cleaning personnel can start swiping the floor in the corridor at 6am which could wake up some of the residents.
I believe Villa Langka has been around and appreciated by hundreds of customers for a long time but a small effort to keep up with competitors' increasingly higher standards would not harm.

Room Tip: I is recommended to choose a room in the new wing on a lower floors where you can benefit from tree...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexei99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

I read with attention and interest your comments. Our maintenance department works continously to maintain and improve quality of the room. Your remarks are taken into consideration. Concerning breakfast we offer a buffet with a large fresh fruit selection, homemade yogurt, homemade fresh pastries, homemade 3 kind of bread with jam, muesli, live station for eggs of your choice on request, one asian soup or asian dish, homemade cakes....
Thank you for your positive comments and all of Villa Langka staff will always be pleased to serve you!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Villa Langka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 996 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

It is a very well located hotel in the city, and very very quiet, close to the Independence Monument and surrounded by a lush garden, with pool. That said, the hotel management was very well and we has support for all steps. The buffet breakfast is taken at the pool was perfect and when the choice available (Asian and Western). The staff is very friendly, helpful, and professional. A very pleasant stay in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M-Welton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your very nice review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

After an initial mishap with our booking, we settled in here for a lovely 5 night stay. Staff didn't speak alot of english but we managed. Loved the suite room we stayed in overlooking the pool. Breakfast was basic but good, served in a relaxed atmosphere. Location was great. A short stroll to Street 240 for some nice shopping, close to attractions and the river. Wandered by foot most nights and found good places to eat close by. some very friendly tuk tuk drivers right at the door who spoke great english and were willing to show you around. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanneK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience at Villa Langka and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The design is sharp. The rooms are conducive to kicking back, and with a bit of style -- contemporary and comfortable. Relaxing and pretty pleasing to the eye.

The staff are very friendly -- and also very professional. Service standards are quite high. (I've also stayed at Raffles in Phnom Penh. While the style is different, I wouldn't say the service there is any more professional or efficient.) Needs ranging from laundry to the loan of a power adaptor are taken care of promptly and well. Always makes travel that much nicer if you know there are some people you can rely on helping you out.

Meals at this hotel are also a pleasure. It's a small hotel with a pleasant but unassuming dining room...so you might be surprised at the extra dash of inventiveness in the dishes and the five-star presentation. Very nice food in a very relaxed environment.

I'm not crazy about the location -- but check it as it suits many people. It's close to some offices and a strip of small clubs and restaurants that seem to be popular. But it feels slightly secluded (even thought it's only five minutes from the center of town).

On the other hand, I grew to like the location. After a dusty, hot day in the city, a quiet and leafy side street with a nice pool and a relaxing restaurant was actually pretty darn nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We would like to thank you for your very nice review and we are very pleased that our facilities met your requirements. It's always a great reward for us to offer a pleasant stay to our guest.
I will share with all staff of the hotel your satisfaction with their good service and professional attitude.
Look forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

VIlla Langka's a nice boutique hotel in a good location. Convenient for work - it's close to many of the NGOs, development agencies and other offices. And convenient for sightseeing, restaurants, etc. It's a little off the main drag (although very central - just not on the main road), so also quite quiet (although the temple bells can get a little trying at times). Overall, a nice ambience and a nice sense of style - a lush garden and courtyard with a tiny, although very welcome, saltwater swimming pool. That's surrounded by the restaurant and bar area, which serves very decent food and an imaginative range of cocktails, should the fancy take you. Service is very friendly and helpful indeed - always ready to assist in those little things that make your room or your stay perfect. I have a few minor gripes, but they are relatively minor. Bathrooms are open to the bedroom - not really sure why, as sometimes a bit of privacy is nice. In the superior rooms (or at least the one I stayed in) the toilet is separate, but in the standard room even the lavatory's wide open to the room ... maybe not ideal if there are two of you! Some other things obviously haven't been quiet thought through - a shower directed over the toilet seat, curtains that you have to stand on a chair to open or close,a desk which is too low to work at/get your knees under, a rather insipid hot water system, and really noisy fans which need a service (as did the air conditioners in both my room, which were half-hearted in their attempts to cool the room). In the balance, the pluses far outweigh the minuses - but certainly while looking beautiful, with nice rooms, exceptional staff, good food and a cracking location, not everything had really been thought through in terms of operational functionality. I will go back if I'm in Phnom Penh again, definitely, but to me it just falls short of an extra star above "very good". With a little extra thought it could make "excellent".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed with the style and atmosphere of the hotel and also with the quality of service delivered by the hotel staff. Also I will share your comments about the room with concerned persons.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Rooms are extremely comfortable and well-planned. Pool area is simply wonderful and a great place to relax away from the hurly-burly of the Phnom Penh streets. Great breakfast buffet and restaurant as well. Very impressed by the hotel, would highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your very positive review and very pleased that you enjoyed hotel atmosphere, the service and the breakfast quality during your stay with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I spent about a week staying at the Villa Langka, I found the staff to be very helpful, knowledgable and I was most impressed with their English.

The hotel was well situated, and managed to be a short walk from many excellent restaurants without suffering from any noise at all. It was quiet and tranquil.

The hotel itself is beautiful, built around an outdoor pool with palm trees surrounding, it realy is a taste of paradise. The pool was kep clean, rooms were clean and well equipped, and the variety for breakfast meant i could try something new each day! Often i would return to my room to find that jasmine flowers had been placed by my bedside, whichwas just lovely.

In the evenings we would sit out on the sofas by the pool and relax with a cup of tea, I would have rated the whole experience as excellent if we had the option of a bar for alcoholic drinks, it would have topped of each night wonderfully. Having said that, it didn't spoil the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.3 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 272 in Phnom Penh
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 272 in Phnom Penh
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 272 in Phnom Penh
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Langka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Langka

Address: No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $49 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Langka 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Boutique Hotel in an oasis of calm, Villa Langka offers a private hideaway in central Phnom Penh.Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Villa Langka Boutique Hotel overlooks the ancient spires of Wat Langka Pagoda and is located just around the corner from the Independence Monument and the popular street 278, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Villa Langka Boutique Hotel offers 48 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 24 rooms in a traditional khmer villa and 24 rooms in a contemporary building.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility.Ideal location and atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Langka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Langka Hotel Phnom Penh
Langka Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing