We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“laughably awful cocktails and poor food”

Freebird Bar & Grill
Ranked #235 of 1,405 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“laughably awful cocktails and poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

having lived in Phnom Penh for several years we finally got around to trying this place as we craved a hamburger. we ordered a Margarita and a martini; both drinks could not be finished. they were simply not drinkable. the blue cheese burger apparently contained the cheese within the meat which, had the menu stated that,i would not have ordered. finally the buns were the consistency of used sponge. the service was at least pleasant.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freerangesquirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    125
    48
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
461 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Freebird fun and funky, for snacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Taking in the sights of Phnom Penh can be hot work and sometimes a long cold beer, a hot chili, tasty steak, chips – carbs and a bit of protein fix is very tempting. The Freebird offers all this and more. Service is good and the bar is comfortable and has a lot of Yankee doodle character. We enjoyed our beer and snack here very much, the Freebird (16) is a fun place. But to find this placed ranked by Tripadvisor so far ahead of amazing Phnom Penh restaurants as Topaz (287) or the Le Royal (68) at Raffles is irrational and bizarre. We think Freebird is fun and funky but the reality is, as a restaurant it is a league or magnitude below some really fine eating establishments which are ranked on TAs scale as somehow inferior. A matter of apples and oranges!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

found this by luck, very welcoming , free nuts ,popcorn , and chilled water. we had a couple of pints each,, we had a beautiful steak eack, and a pudding, the bill was only $30 ,, the service was excellent, will be going back tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike7463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“finally some non asian foods while away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

the best bowl of chili ive had in years, friendly service and ill definitely be back when in phnom penh

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Service and great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great taste of home with excellent service - fantastic wings, nachos and a good selection of beer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamBattambang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freebird Bar & Grill also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Freebird Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing