We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms, helpful owner”
Review of Fancy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #12 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Not in the nicest of areas in Phnom Penh but only 10 minutes walk to the riverside. The rooms we stayed in are new, spacious and clean. There is an older part to the building and some rooms do not have windows so it is wise to view before you commit.

The owner is very helpful and did organise our Vietnam Visas at a reasonable price. He was also quite chatty but I would have to say we felt a little pressured to book trips. We took an offer of using his brother's "taxi" for a days sight seeing and on reflection we did overpay. Just take your time when discussing options and make sure you negotiate.

One important point is that we felt very safe and secure at this guesthouse which is always a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2010

What a little haven in Phnom Penh!

We arrived with no place picked out to stay. Our very obliging tuk tuk driver took us by a few places in our price range ($10 - 15), but they were all dive-y.

The last place he brought us to was Fancy, saying "I think you'll like it here".

We were impressed with the tidy lobby, and Mr Phinnak's warm, smiling welcome was promising. The guesthouse looks like it's brand new, and it's clean clean clean. Mr Phinnak showed us the security system (cameras) and assured us no non-guests are allowed in.

We were shown three different rooms for different prices, and although we'd planned to take the least expensive room, we ended up "splurging" on a room with balcony.

The room was so squeaky clean it practically sparkled. Crisp white sheets, new towels, nicely painted walls (creamy coloured) and light wood furniture, so the room was really airy and bright. Air-con worked like a charm, the TV was nice to have, and we had a kettle and free tea and coffee every day, and a little fridge (also new).

The bathroom was the nicest and cleanest we've seen in 3 months travelling through Southeast Asia.

The balcony was great for us; we bought baguettes and fruit at the market, and had breakfast at the little rattan table and chairs.

Wi-fi worked on the balcony too (although the signal was a bit weak).

Room was cleaned promptly every morning; one morning we headed out to get breakfast, and it the room was ready for us when we returned an hour later!

The whole crew working at Fancy were super, and very helpful.

The location is good too; it's just around the corner from Friends, a great little restaurant, and it's a 5 minute walk to the Riverfront or Royal Palace. There's a market for fruit just down the street, and a minimart a block away.

We found it to be surprisingly quiet at night; we didn't have a problem with loud music, as other reviews have mentioned.

For the price, it's the best in its range and location. Sure there are cheaper places, and sure there are places closer to the riverfront. We checked them all out. Fancy was definitely the best value for money, and Mr Phinnak is truly irreplaceable!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soobee_vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

fancy guesthouse is a small, spotlessly clean ,safe little place in a convenient location (couple of minutes to royal palace, riverfront, sorya shopping center, fcc..),run by the friendly and helpful mr.phannak.thank god we had this place to relax from the mayhem of phnom penh.you get water, freh towels,have wifi (5 dollars for 6 hours)and hot showers.there is a free pickup and mr.phannak can organize bus tickets or sightseeing tours.nearby are a supermarket with a cafe for breakfast, riverfront restaurants and a local market to get your fruit...or halfdead chicken, or..you name it.i am not so sure about the city itself, but if you go there, stay at fancy guesthouse and enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggiluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I moved to this guest house after staying in a much more expensive hotel and will stay there again if I"m lucky enough to get back to PP.
It's clean, it's safe (important in PP) and in walking distance to the river and the fabulous restaurant Friends.
The owner is helpful and lovely and I wish I could have stayed longer.
There's no wi fi, but plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby (the wi fi at the FCC is great - as is their daily happy hour).
Highly recommended if you're on a budget or backpacking holiday. Just remember that it is a budget hotel, if you want something luxurious, you have to pay more than $US15 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Can only recommend this guesthouse ! Excellent location . Clean . Friendly and helpfull staff. Although no internet but across the street there's an internet-cafe. Outside can be noisy at night . Fair price for what you get ! Will sure go there again if i'm back in Cambodia !

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Anyone who thinks this place is overpriced should read on. We booked ahead prior to leaving laos for this highly rated guesthouse. The owner, Mr. Phannak, arranged a pickup from the airport for 10$, which saves the hassle of negotiating with the hordes of taxi drivers outside the airport. On arrival he was most welcoming and had one of the several locals working for him carry our bags to our room.

The room itself is virtually sterile, with a hotwater shower, cable TV, minibar and a balcony looking out onto the street for 25$ a night. The value comes in your dealings with Mr. Phannak. We were to be leaving for Vietnam in 7 days but were only staying in Phnom Penh for 2 nights and wanted to organise visas. He organised a 30 day visa for $40 (normally closer to $54-58) and had it for us within 24 hours (normally 48). If you can't be bothered negotiating with all the local tuk tuk drivers to see all the sights in Phnom Penh he will set you up with one of his drivers in a very comfy Camry for $30 for a day. He also introduced us to Mekong Express Bus service, an excellent value and slightly more comfortable alternative to Capitol Tours, that can bring you anywhere in Cambodia and onto Saigon if needs be.

Mr. Phannak also set us up in the Angkor Spirit palace in Siem Riep, run by a kindred spirit of his, at the same price as our room in Fancy, even though their entry rooms are $35.

All in all, unless your the kind of person who stubbornly likes to do bargain and organise everything for yourself (which I am to a certain extent), I wholeheartedly recommend Fancy guesthouse to all and sundry!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daithi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My family and I had an enjoyable 6 days stay in this quiet, safe and very clean guesthouse operated by Mr. Phannak. Initially I intended to stay for 3 nights, but after moving around and checking on the nearby guesthouses, I extended my stay here again due to its cleanilness, safety and Mr. Phannak's excellent services It is 10 mins walk to the Royal Palace and National Museum and a 5 mins walk will take you to the busy Tonle Sap River where there are lots of restaurants, bars, drinking places, shops and bookstores. There are many local Khmer foodstores near the Fancy Guesthouse too.
Mr. Phannak always remind us to be street smart while going out and the correct amount to pay for the tuk tuk bringing us to the places of interests.
Although this is a Guesthouse, but it is comparable to some of the 3 stars hotels in Vietnam or even better. The lobby, even the walkway and the stairways leading to the rooms are spotlessly clean. The rooms are nice, clean and even the toilets are very clean. The mattresses are thick enough to provide you with a sound and good sleep after your hectic days of walking. The bath towels are changed everyday and the rooms are neatly made up when we went back every night.
Mr. Phannak respond to emails very fast and he is on hand to assist us in whatever we enquire. Currently WiFi can be access in the Lobby and a few rooms in the front. Understand from Mr. Phannak that he is trying to have wifi in all the rooms in the near future. He is a nice guy to chat and get along with, and I will not hesistate to stay in this guesthouse when I return to Phnom Penh again.

Fancy Guesthouse
Tel: [--]
Mobile: [--]
Email: [--]

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#57 of 274 in Phnom Penh
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#30 of 274 in Phnom Penh
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#51 of 274 in Phnom Penh
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Address: 169B, Chan Reachea, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing