We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANCY GUESTHOUSE a great place to stay in Phnom Penh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fancy Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #16 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brizzy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANCY GUESTHOUSE a great place to stay in Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

I had a great stay at the FANCY guesthouse,MR Phannak was a most welcoming host, my room was clean and the bed comfortable.
The guesthouse is about 5 minutes walk to the royal palace and about 5 minutes to the river front bars and eateries via the markets.
MR Phannak organised my onward journey and guesthouse in Siem reap, all done with a smile and a "No worries" style.Great value for money.
Duncan from Brizzy

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizzyBoltonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    149
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
34
193
85
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

A little on the expensive side when compared to others in Phnom Penh, however I think it was worth it. We had room with a balcony at USD$30 per night. Very clean and tidy throughout. Front of house is well staffed (by family) at all times, so very safe. Good location, within easy walking or tuk-tuk distance of the riverside and main shopping and dining areas. Handy little supermarket close by. A little noisy from nearby nightclub at night but you are in the middle of a large city! Easy to arrange booking via email, without deposit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

The room is great.... strategic location....the room is clean and at a reasonable price USD 25 for a twin room. The owner Mr Phanak is very helpful in arranging the day tour and other transportation.......

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferSia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

This really is a gem hidden in the streets of Phnom Penh

After checking out some of the nastiest places available lakeside we decided to head into town and check out fancy, first impressions were great

As previously mentioned Mr Phannack is very helpful and can organise a lot for you, he also get's his father and brother involved in a bit of the driving which is good to see!

Rooms are a little more expensive than what we paid for the rest of our time around SE Asia but with Air con, TV and a fridge it's to be expected.

Ask Mr Phannack to give you directions to a restauraunt called Friends, it's just up and around the corner. They are helping to get Cambodian teens off the street by giving them a job and teaching them English, expensive if your on a budget but awesome food!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bass_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My personal point of view; Cambodia is far from been a place to fully enjoy...
Hotel OK, but expensive...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

This place is really nice for the money. we paid 20USD (which is more than other places but not bank breaking)
We got a nice room, air con, TV etc. It is however not fancy, this is a budget accommodation. The owner is very friendly and replies to email promptly.

However:
It was a bit noisy when it rained - tin roofing somewhere near.
To get to the centre / river you have to walk down one of the smelliest streets in the world. Waste management is not one of the city´s strong points.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

It is clean and spacious and the staff is excellent. They will do anything you need to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. It is close to the main drag and the palace and national museum and lots of great shopping. You will need to have a driver for visits to the killing fields, genocide museum and Russian market. Mr Phannack brother does a great job for a reasonable rate.
Take the owner a T-shirt with a name of your city. He will love you for it!
Sarah
Kauai, Hawaii

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuipokauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#59 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.0 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#3 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Property: Fancy Guest House
Address: 169B, Chan Reachea (St. 15), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing