We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New clean rooms, helpful service”
Review of Fancy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #14 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New clean rooms, helpful service”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We chose this guesthouse on the recommendation of a fellow traveller in HCMC, Vietnam, and we weren't disappointed. We wrote for a reservation directly to the e-mail address and got a prompt response from Mr. Phannak. Once arrived, we were shown a choice of rooms. We paid $17 for two in a large room with bathroom, fridge, tv and air con. Everything was very clean and the building seemed to have good security (staff in the lobby all the time, often rocking the owner's new little son). Mr. Phannak speaks good English and was very helpful. He booked us good seats on an excellent bus to Siem Reap at the same price as the bus company, no extra charge. We could walk from here to the river, the museum, the royal palace and the Central Market, though we always took a tuktuk back at night (not much street lighting in PP). It was a bit inconvenient having to go out to get breakfast, but if we'd been more organized, we could have bought supplies to put in the fridge and eaten in the room.

  • Liked — clean and safe
  • Disliked — going to a restaurant for breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    150
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
34
194
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2008

One of the best guesthouses we have stayed in. The staff are really friendly, helping with any request made. The rooms are exceptionally clean and new feeling. Although Fancy doesn't have an attached restaurant there were many Western options close by, the closet was only 20 meters away.

Troy Deb and Jacob, Australia July 2008.

  • Liked — clean rooms & bathroom
  • Disliked — no WIFI yet, owner has plans to introduce soon iu am told
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank troydebjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed here for two nights at the end of June, 2008. Decent place - clean, nice bed, nice furniture, good looking rooms. Narrow building - many small floors with no elevators means you're likely to have several flights of stairs. Reasonably close to city center, but not within walking distance of anything. $15 - $20 a night is average for a good guesthouse in Phnom Penh....so I think next time I'll stay someplace right on the river.

One thing - the bathrooms lacked a real shower. I know now that's normal for the whole country, but it was a surprise finding out that I had to stand in my bare feet on the bathroom floor next to the toilet and take a shower with the hose.

Mr. Phannak, the owner, was nice and helpful in setting up a bus to Siem Reap for me. His brother is a driver, and picked me up from the airport and drove me around town. He was a great chauffer...knew where almost everything was, and had pretty good English. He'd watch for me to exit the building, and have the door open, the engine going, and the A/C on, every time - very slick. Still, had to put up with a couple speeches about how poor he is and how much he needs some money, at at $30 per day and another $40 per evening, he's a lot more expensive than normal, for Phnom Penh.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the service.
  • Disliked — Location.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We couldn't fins a decent place to stay and after going to the floating guest houses over looking the water; which were described in lonelyplanet as an idilic pangyang resort, which they defo are NOT! We got brought to this place by two very very nice tuk tuk drivers (reminded us of batman and robin duo)

As we entered it was all immaculately clean and airconditioned. The owner was such a cheerful man and quickly showed us his new born son..he even showed the boys! He showed us the range of rooms and then we accepted without any doubt. I took photos before i left as this is such a nice place and the owner is so nice and willing to assist or just have a conversation, that i thought we should help advertise this GREAT place

Dont miss out on a great stay!

Here is the info on the place:
No. 169B, Street 15, Sangkat Phsar Kandal 2, Khan Daun Penh Phnom Penh - Kingdom of Cambodia
Tel: [--]
email: fancyguesthouse@yahoo.com

toodles x

  • Liked — the owners friendlyness and the upmarket heotel like rooms
  • Disliked — no negatives about the place
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Margo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viet Nam
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2008

This is a new guest house in a central location. The rooms are very clean with proper sheets and towels, feeling more like a hotel than other guest houses. All rooms (priced USD15 - USD25) have aircon, en suite bathrooms, fridges, and cable TV. The cheaper rooms may not have windows. The guest house felt very safe. The owner is super friendly and informative and can arrange visas and trips. We took a day-long car taxi ride with his brother for USD25, visiting Prison S-21, the Killing Fields, and the Russian Market. No breakfast included in the price. No Internet but there is an Internet cafe just across the road for 50c an hour. After a few weeks of travelling this has so far been our best room. For USD 22 we had a large room with a balcony. We are very concerned about cleanliness and this place was spotless.

Fancy Guest House
No 169 B, Street 15
Sangkat Phsar Kandal 2
Phnom Penh
Tel: +855-23211829
fancyguesthouse@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Cleanliness and good service
  • Disliked — Some of the nearby streets are pretty disgusting
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rule_No_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I've been around the block a few times, this is a nice new inexpensive and clean place. the Owner, Mr.Phannak really went out of his way for me.
He showed me all the rooms and let me have my choice of room.
all brand new, with new furniture.this guy really went over board with furnishing the rooms.Felt more like home than a hotel.all with A/C,baths,TVs,etc
It's on a nice quiet street.Not too off the beaten path,but not too far from Palace/ Riverside/Main areas.
up the road from the Unalom Pagoda and Kandal Market.
It's new so not everyone knows where it's at. so keep the phone number handy, let the cabby/moto call for directions first.
Well a few minuses, no in room safe, but they have safety boxes in the lobby. and the usual wet bathroom. basically a large shower room everything inside gets wet.
I can't say enough good things about Fancy Guest House and Mr. Phannak and his family. Great people/place.

  • Liked — new hotel /rooms
  • Disliked — walk up no elevator
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caliduuude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#56 of 267 in Phnom Penh
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 325 in Phnom Penh
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 325 in Phnom Penh
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Property: Fancy Guest House
Address: 169B, Chan Reachea, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing