We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fancy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #15 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Central, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 2 occasions and were very impressed with the guesthouse. Booking via email was simple and efficient. The location is excellent - close to most places of interest in Phnom Penh. The staff were very friendly and helpful in booking onward travel and accommodation. Rooms are spacious and clean. Only minor issue is that the aircon blows directly onto the bed. Overall highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    149
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
34
193
86
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed at Fancy Guesthouse the last 4times I've been in Phnom Penh, the service is that good! All the staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great, just a few mins from the riverside. The rooms are spotless and roomy and the whole place is safe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Jay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banlung, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed here SO many times and have never been disappointed. Mr Phannek and his staff, all family I am pretty sure, are the greatest people. Always willing to help and go the extra mile. The rooms are always clean and SAFE. You could leave your life savings in the room and be comfortable in knowing it will be there when you return. For budget travel, it can not be beat. Convenient location to the river and MANY places to eat and things to do. Air con, hot water and wifi all work good.

Most important to me is a staff that is like my own family...I love this place!

Room Tip: Tell Mr. Phannek what you want when you are booking, he will steer you right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49er_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Since I was staying in Phnom Penh for a while, I wanted to rent somewhere that was good value for money. The Fancy Guesthouse lives up to its name, with excellent aircon, a good fridge, cable TV, a comfortable bed, and a large shower and good toilet.

The staff are very friendly and speak good English. The wifi speed has been fast for most of my stay. For the price you are paying, I really doubt you can get anywhere better in Phnom Penh. I don't give out 5 stars to most places I visit, but this one deserves it.

Thank you Fancy Guest House!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCheesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

So glad we moved from the Angkor Internation Hotel a few doors up, to this place. It is clean, with good rooms, powerful showers and comfy beds. We paid $18 a night for an aircon twin.
There are two computers in the lobby, although not the fastest and you can buy hot and cold drinks there.
The brothers who run the place are so kind, polite and helpful. Really glad we stayed here.
Only slight annoyance was the noise one morning as the doors are not well insulated.

For nearby eating, try the Laughing Fatman, details on Tripadvisor. It's only a 5-10 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Too bad there is no place to store the clothes in the rooms, when you Travel for a while, It is always Nice to unpack.
Otherwise great value for money !
Would go background there if i ever go back to PP again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimanouchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good:

Very good location. Close to riverside. Next to 'shadier' places late at night (although that can be said about the entire city), but the hotel itself feels very safe and secure! I was not worried to leave valuables in the room.

Also, the rooms were nice, clean and large rooms at a fair price!

Friendly staff!

Bad:

They close the gate a bit early so you have to knock on the window in order to get in. Staff was polite regardless and opened the door quickly!

Good and bad: my room had no window, but that one can go either way and depends on your perspective.

Would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Property: Fancy Guest House
Address: 169B, Chan Reachea (St. 15), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing