We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, modern and an excellent price”
Review of Fancy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #13 of 317 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean, comfortable, modern and an excellent price”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Since I was staying in Phnom Penh for a while, I wanted to rent somewhere that was good value for money. The Fancy Guesthouse lives up to its name, with excellent aircon, a good fridge, cable TV, a comfortable bed, and a large shower and good toilet.

The staff are very friendly and speak good English. The wifi speed has been fast for most of my stay. For the price you are paying, I really doubt you can get anywhere better in Phnom Penh. I don't give out 5 stars to most places I visit, but this one deserves it.

Thank you Fancy Guest House!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCheesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    150
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
34
194
87
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

So glad we moved from the Angkor Internation Hotel a few doors up, to this place. It is clean, with good rooms, powerful showers and comfy beds. We paid $18 a night for an aircon twin.
There are two computers in the lobby, although not the fastest and you can buy hot and cold drinks there.
The brothers who run the place are so kind, polite and helpful. Really glad we stayed here.
Only slight annoyance was the noise one morning as the doors are not well insulated.

For nearby eating, try the Laughing Fatman, details on Tripadvisor. It's only a 5-10 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Too bad there is no place to store the clothes in the rooms, when you Travel for a while, It is always Nice to unpack.
Otherwise great value for money !
Would go background there if i ever go back to PP again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimanouchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good:

Very good location. Close to riverside. Next to 'shadier' places late at night (although that can be said about the entire city), but the hotel itself feels very safe and secure! I was not worried to leave valuables in the room.

Also, the rooms were nice, clean and large rooms at a fair price!

Friendly staff!

Bad:

They close the gate a bit early so you have to knock on the window in order to get in. Staff was polite regardless and opened the door quickly!

Good and bad: my room had no window, but that one can go either way and depends on your perspective.

Would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at Fancy Guest House for three nights in February and found the staff and service to be excellent on all fronts. All of my requests were met with a smile and the results were almost always even better than expected. The location of the guest house can't be beat - just a five minute walk to the riverside and just steps from the Royal Palace. It's tucked away on a small side street and removed from the madness, but just minutes away when you want to take the plunge and explore. The room rates are all very reasonable and I opted for an upgrade to the front balcony room and would recommend it to anyone seeking a room in PP.

I've written to thank Mr Phannak and his staff and will do so here publicly. I will return to Phnom Penh in the next couple months for work and will always choose Fancy as my home away. The combination of comfort, service, location and security/safety just can't be beat. Thank you very much for everything,

Room Tip: Choose the front balcony rooms if available. A bargain at twice the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Mr. Phannak ... the man, the myth, the legend. Simply put, he met and exceeded all our expectations. Unfortunately for him, an Aussie built his website 4.5 years ago, but there is a glitch in the site and the Aussie is MIA. His website has been down for quite some time now, so if you want to make a reservation (I made mine over three months in advance), email him directly at fancyguesthouse@yahoo.com

It took me forever to find this email address, so I post this as a courtesy to future travelers, I have not received any pay or benefit for doing so.

My greatest complaint would be that the chrome on the balcony was not polished to perfection (we stayed in fabled Room number 301). I say this fececiously, since there's really nothing to complain about; however, I'm sure the next time I stay there, the chrome will be immaculate, as is the rest of the place.

His arranged transfer prices to Siem Reap and Phu Quoc and taxi airport pickups were similar to the other agencies, so why gamble and book onward tickets with anyone else?

My only serious caveat would be that the restaurant he recommends first will cost you $16-20 dollars for two people (L.A. quality food but pricey for Cambodia), and his driver for the Killing Fields speaks almost no English, so read up the night before.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottEversonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oulu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Rooms are nice has ac, tv, fridge, wifi, but overpriced. Owner is also very rude, greedy and customer is always wrong. If you book a room in advance, don't be surprised, if they don't have the room for you and it's not they fault NEVER!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiaexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Property: Fancy Guest House
Address: 169B, Chan Reachea (St. 15), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing