We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, v. good quality”
Review of Fancy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #12 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We saw good reviews of the Fancy Guest House in Phomn Pehn on Trip Advisor, and decided to give it a whirl.  We got a balcony room on the 3rd Floor, however spent most of our time when in the room, in the room with the AC on to get away from the heat so didn't use much.

Liked:
Nice telly in room, with good selection of Channels (and got to watch most of the re-runs of the Premiere League football matches, which was great).

A big fridge in lobby with good selection of drinks that you can stick on tab and take to your room.

Good air con.
Kettle in room with complimentary coffee and tea. Nice.
Nice comfy bed.
Good wifi.
Centrally located.
Clean and tidy.
Cheap laundry service.
Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked:
3rd floor, and no lift.  That's a lot of stairs to walk up.
No breakfast, but there are a lot of places around to eat.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mariann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 495 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I arrived in Phnom Penh quite late. We looked at 3 budget hotels before settling on one (not Fancy GH) for $8 fan ($13 air con): worst night sleep of my 2 month trip. The following morning, she and I ran to 10 other budget hotels before checkout. All of them, no exception, were offering aircon rooms for $13 plus in less than satisfactory conditions: really really tiny rooms, or very dirty conditions, etc.

We had nearly given up when we came across Fancy Guest House: the price is originally $17 (but we negotiated it down to $15). Really nice clean marble floors, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, aircon rooms with cable TV and wifi. Even reasonable beer prices (.75 cents). The staff was also very friendly. Our room was small (but not tiny) - great for the price. You can't go wrong with this hotel (near the Grand Palace).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights late November. We had a double a/c room. The communication was easy and they responded quickly. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean, spacious, a/c was great. The GH is an easy walk from food and the river and some sights but in the heat a tuk tuk is best. The wifi worked very well. All in all great value for money. The service is amazeing. The family really care that you enjoy your time in the GH and in the country. They helped us book bus tickets, chased pick ups for us. There was no offence to not wanting to use other travel services as previously stated on TA. As I said we enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for a night in December before moving on and again the family were lovely and genuinely happy to see us. We had a huge room this time right at the top of the stairs. The climb was worth it to look out over the local neighbourhood. First time I have been 100% happy I went on trip advisor recommendations!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Apart from being affordable, clean and of good location (as what others have said), Fancy Guest House provides more than just a comfortable accommodation. For someone who has endured an almost 7-hour bus ride from Saigon, seeing the guest house's tuktuk driver eagerly waiting for me and my friends at the very chaotic bus station of Phnom Penh was a welcome sight.

The staff are accommodating, honest, and reliable. We didn't have any problems purchasing bus tickets to Siem Reap as they were the ones who reserved it for us. And they got us the best seats on a very nice bus. The guy at the reception even called our hostel in Siem Reap and arranged for a pick-up upon our arrival there. It was so nice of him. Upon checking out, we unknowingly left something at our room and the staff immediately gave it back to us. Fortunately, we were still downstairs waiting for our bus to Siem Reap.

Thanks Fancy Guest House for making our stain Phnom Penh hassle-free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvienbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is my first time travelling to cambodia. The guest house is clean, affordable and in a good location. Surrounding within walking distances to food outlets.
Most important it has a reliable wireless Internet for my smart devices : kindle / blackberry / iphone.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlescornersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent one night in Fancy Guest House, after reading other reviews on trip advisor. Over our three week trip, it was one of the cleanest guest houses we had come across. Our room had air con, and wifi, and spotlessly clean bed sheets and bathroom.

The staff were very friendly, and helped us book our onward travel, and even phoned other guest houses for us to book future accomodation.

Great location, great value and highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sarahl_8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We loved the place, it is very well located. Walking distance from everything. The brothers are lovely and helpful. The room was confortable and very quiet. Although, make sure you book one with windows and not the ground floor one.
we will come back there.

Room Tip: take a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audreyetjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.6 mi away
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#78 of 275 in Phnom Penh
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 275 in Phnom Penh
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 333 in Phnom Penh
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#9 of 333 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Address: 15 169b, Chan Reachea (St., Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $16 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing