We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frangipani Villas 60's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Firstly the negatives (and not really as this place is fantastic). Right next door there is a huge construction job going on to a building probably bigger than the guest house itself. The noise wouldn't bother me but I know this could put some people off. It starts about 7am and goes I think till about 4pm. As I say, it's a presonal thing whether this would annoy you or not. 60's itself is great, spotlessly clean, amazingly friendly staff who really look after you and are so friendly. When I arrived they knew me by name, handed me a cold drink, a cold face towel and a flower. What more could you ask for? My standard single room was just lovely, with a modern bathroom. Water a bit crazy but nothing to get upset about. You turn it on it's a bit cool, then wait a minute, it gushes out, and becomes really hot - so just adjust the temperature. Easy! Location wise it's close to an ATM, an airconditioned internet place and within minutes of the riverfront by tuk tuk (permanent group outside the door). My only gripe would be the lack of restaurant, I thought it had one based on it's site but it's really just a tiny menu and it doesn't look like people use it much. Having said that, breakfast was enough each day to keep you full for hours, and served up by a lovely smiling chef. All in all a great place to stay in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have no idea why the previous reviewer found the staff unprofessional. Over the last 7days we have had many instances of help from the very friendly managers here. Our room is large and immaculately clean. Only let down is the intermittant hot water which can get scalding at times. Anyone travelling with children be careful. This place is great though, excellant location and very helpful staff.
If your the sort of traveller that whinges at every little thing and expects five start standards at 2 star prices then this place is not for you. If you want smiling staff and clean rooms away from the backpackers and road noise then this place is worth considering.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaytH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangipani60s, Manager at The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Thank you very much for your comment and we appreciate your feedback which gives us valuable information to continue to improve service at the Frangipani Villas. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our service (great though, excellent location and very helpful staff) and your understanding given to our place. We would like to apologize for intermittent hot water as result of hot and cold water pump malfunction. We will fix the water problem and try to improve our service to make your next time stay a pleasant one.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Obviously many visitors appreciate the good points of Villa 90s. If you want to stay in a really out of the way location (yes, OK, it is very "local" area and not highly touristed) and you weren't expecting to stay in Villa 60s, there are some pluses. The garden outside is nice and the WiFi in the rooms is fantastic. Apart from that, I can't see anything to recommend it. It has been noted by previous reviewers that a scam or fraud is involved with this place. You request a specific room at Villa 60s based on the photos and write-up on their website. They tell you by email that they can't give you that room for a night or two but you can stay at 90s on a temporary basis. When you get there, late at night after a long international flight, they tell you that no, you can't stay at 60s at all. I was put in room 105 which was kind of OK, but then told I would have to move to the third floor the next day into a dismal cramped room with no outlook and horrible light. Basically, it is a clever means of getting people to fill their worst rooms and, if they are lucky, to "graduate" to a better one later. Here's what else is wrong: confused and disorganised desk staff, very poor English, cannot even read their booking register properly, curtains are so thin that light gets in, towels are almost transparent, water does not go down the drain for ten minutes, breakfast is very limited and skimpy, no Asian choices, they tell you how eco-friendly they are but that means they don't change the linen for four days at a time. I cannot believe so many people think this is acceptable, and it's not even particularly cheap. For less money you can have a nice large room in many in-town places, and for a bit more, luxurious rooms in city hotels. If it's not an outright fraud, it's certainly a disgraceful way to run a business. On the other hand, they clearly get away with it. If you expect to get what you have booked for, forget it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann-de-Mot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangipani60s, Manager at The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Thank you very much for your comment and we appreciate your feedback which gives us valuable information to continue to improve service at the Frangipani Villa-90s. We would accept the fact that we tried to arrange a room for your stay at Frangipani Villa-90s as our water pipe inside the room leaking from the wall on the day you check in and and we urgently tried to fix it – the reason for which you had to change your room based on the availability. We are sorry to hear that our room design in Frangipani Villa-90s did not meet your expectation in the way that all rooms can use less electricity (more light but there is enough curtain). However, we will put more curtain in a nice design for friendly use to protect sun light if it is not necessary. we wished to communicate with the guest in advance to inform about the room change to avoid such a feeling of fraud.

We accept the fact that some of our staff cannot speak English properly as they speak english as a second language and they were from vulnerable group and grew up in orphanage center for their education and we definitely help them to make their living by bearing in mind that opportunity given to them can help them improve their life and moving forward to improve their ability. If we do not think about this social responsibility we would have fired them long time ago. However, we have to teach them and train them in the hope that they can improve their english as well as skills day by day through on the job learning and through communicating with native english speaker guests.

For breakfast, we have bread and toast with butter and jam, a fruit juice and a bowl of fresh fruits and a more breakfast, eggs and bacon is included. For eco-friendly, we use solar water system and this might need about 5-10 mns for hot water to come down and for linen, guests can request to change if they would like to change as clearly mention in the hotel information left in the bathroom and on the writing desk. We would encourage you to communicate any disappointment right away so that we can make your stay and especially your start into the day more enjoyable.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Frangipani 90 (we can not judge 60) was in a calm smaller street, however close to Mao Tse Tung Road, in BKK 1 area. We enjoyed our stay a lot. There is a guard at the door, and insight it is pleasant court yard where you can have breakfast or a drink. We chose the largest room on the top floor with own balcony - quite stylish with a lot of cement and a huge loft-style room. It is a little bit more expensive than the other rooms, but in my opinion it is worth it.
The hotel is eco-friendly, which gives an additional good feeling.
Service is excellent - they will help you booking onward journey, changing money for good exchange rate, give you advise etc. Plus they are extremely friendly and speak good English.
WiFi is free everywhere. To go downtown, a motorbike taxi should not be more than 2 Dollar.
Only disadvantage is that it is a bit too far away from the seaside. But I guess Frangipani has this in common with a lot of other hotels in Phnom Penh...:-)

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank taphanhin-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

A converted residential house, this place has a friendly manager and welcoming feel. Good breakfast. Not always hot water in the mornings. The beds were VERY hard and I found it hard to sleep well. Easy to get around/call tuk-tuk etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangipani60s, Manager at The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Thank you very much for giving us such valued comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a hard sleep in the bed and experienced cold water in the morning. we will improve our bed quality and also install more solar panel to catch more sunlight to store more hot water. we are happy that the friendliness of our staff and their care during your injury did meet your expectations and your stay at Frangipani Villa-60s was convenient for you to go every places

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed 1 night here before leaving Cambodia, and we found the room really comfortable with nice beds and a huge bathroom (with a good-sized bathtub). The staff were really helpful and arranged for our breakfast to be takeaway as we left early in the morning before official breakfast serving hours. I particularly like how you can refill your water bottle with filtered water from the bar area downstairs. So many hotels just give you a new (small) bottle each day, which is not good for reducing waste.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB33081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at Frangipani 90 for three months Oct, Nov and Dec of 2010. We had looked at renting an apartment, but we had everything included in our nightly rate at the hotel-eg laundry, cleaning, breakfast, power, water, and free wifi. This made the price very resonable in comparison to an apartment monthly rental. Also a BIG plus for us was the garden to relax in.

The room 105 was great-large with opening doors to the garden for fresh air. All concrete walls which add to to coolness of the rooms. Great aircon, comfy large queen size bed, and plenty of space, which we needed to make it our home for the 3 months.
Over our time we got to know the staff very well and now consider them part of our family! We were treated so well -I had an accident while there and was badly injured. After my stay in hospital the staff at the hotel were very attentive if Ii needed extra help. The chef even offered to make special Khmer food for me to help with my healing-nothing was a bother.

The staff are learning English and relish the opportunity to speak with the guests-this helps them improve their service to the guests.

This hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel with a great wee garden to relax in. Its location is not in the centre of the tourist area, and that is why we chose it-to live more with the locals. However there is a great local market just around the corner, it is close to the Russian market and there are always 2 or 3 tuk tuk drivers at the gate waiting to take you wherever you want to go.

Thanks guys-we love you all and you know we will be recommending Frangipani 90 to anybody travelling and needing to say in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 277 in Phnom Penh
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,586 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 277 in Phnom Penh
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
2.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel

Address: 71 #25, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Villa-90s Hotel is a 1990s villa restored in the style 1960’s Cambodia architecture with some contemporary touches. The hotel provides suite, studio, double and twin room accommodation. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings are available on the roof top terrace and on a shady first floor balcony. Food and drinks are served throughout the day in the shady restaurant immediately adjacent to a well designed and extensively planted garden. The hotel is located in southern central Phnom Penh a short tuk-tuk ride from the city’s popular Tuol Tom Poung Market (Russian Market) and providing ready access to other sites throughout the city. A mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM are two minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing