We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality With Understated Style and MANY A Smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
USA
1 review
“Warm Hospitality With Understated Style and MANY A Smile”
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Our group of 25 came to Cambodia to open and dedicate schools for children and we booked the F.V. at the last minute but could not have been happier. The responsiveness and warmth of the staff was incredible. The rooms were clean and happily were cooled with working air con. The food was better than most we ate. The location was excellent---quiet and not far at all from the center of the city. This is a wonderful place and I highly recommend it as your home away from home in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendfromRidgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    76
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
65
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Level 6 Contributor
1,096 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. It offered free internet service and a free breakfast. The price was $35 for a double and the room was clean, with good a/c, a safe, and tv. The place was only marked by a small sign. When one walked inside the gate, there was a nice courtyard filled with flowers and plants and this is where breakfast was served. The young girl, Sarin, ran the place, was efficient, and spoke good english. She hooked us up with a tuk tuk driver who also spoke good english and we used him for the entire time we were in the city. There was an internet place a couple of blocks from the hotel and a pizza place about a block in the opposite direction. Situated close by was a supermarket, very clean, with a good assortment of groceries. Included in the price were 2 pieces of laundry per day per guest, which was a bargain.

  • Liked — the free laundry
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

The staff at this small boutique hotel are some of the nicest I've met in any local Phnom Penh hotel. I've been to Phnom Penh many times and have stayed in a number of hotels. It is so nice to be greeted by kind and caring staff such as Ms. Sarin, the day manager. She is the young lad who wears an elegant string of pearls and the most welcoming smile.

The hotel is a small villa with 7 rooms, each with a different character. After a few days you start to feel more like you are at home rather than in an impersonal hotel.

The Frangipani 60 Villa is located on a quiet side street and offers a break from the chaos of the main streets. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk to the Independence Monument and is just a few blocks to many shops, restaurants and spas frequented by tourists and ex-pats. It's about a 10 minute taxi ride to the riverside and all the action. I've been to the riverside many times at night and find it can be a bit too much.

The rooms are all in very good shape and are exceptionally clean. The have cool tile floors and stylish dark wood furniture. The bathrooms are are very clean and have modern fixtures.

My room, number 21 ("Super Studio"), had a large sitting area with a desk and a small sofa. My room also had a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, with a table and 4 chairs. The room had plenty of windows and was flooded with sunlight. It also had floor to ceiling drapes which helped keep the room cool when necessary.

The rooms have cable TV and free, yes free, in-room internet. There is also a terminal available on the grounds where you can use the internet. In the past, I've paid as much as US$15 per day to have in-room internet access.

A simple breakfast is included in the price of the room. Breakfast consists of a choice of juice, an egg dish, toast and a choice of tea, coffee or Milo. It's nice that they make the food for you as you order it as opposed to having to serve yourself some pre-made food that could be sitting around for a while.

It would have been nice if it had a pool, but then that would probably have raised the price by US$15-20 per night.

  • Liked — Friendly welcoming staff
  • Disliked — Lack of pool.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trishatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a no frill and afordable hotel. I love the clean & spacious rooms and bath rooms are equipped with all necessary stuff . Hotel staff are exceptionally helpful even though they didn't speak fluent English.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeTripper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Excellent place - I would return def. The place is not directly at the water front (thanks for that as it is very touristy) but next to the expat area. This means it is much quieter but some nice restos are 5 min walk away where some real people (not tourist) eat.

Still it is very central abt 20 min walk from the palace or less then 10 min by tuk-tuk. I admit tuk-tuk drivers struggle to find the place which however has more to do with their ability to speak and read English. PP has numberered streets - so orientation is pretty easy.

Our room was very spacious (50qm) with a separated living area. With safe, TV, tea/coffee facilities and some books it was very homey and is great for chilling after travelling around. The design is very modern and has a bauhaus-feel. Breakfast is okay but nicely served in their little garden. We stayed at villa 60s and paid $50incl breakfast- I understand villas90s is close to the Toul Sleng museum, a bit further from the city center.

Staff is helpful- organised bus tickets to SR, tuk-tuk driver to killing fields etc.

Loved the place and would have stayed longer if I had not yet made other arrangements.

  • Liked — design
  • Disliked — swimming pool would have been great
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremantle Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Stayed here recently, and agree with previous poster, it is a bit further out...Moto drivers also struggle with finding it....$1.50 from Riverside.
The hotel itself is superb, with a few minor foibles. The rooms are new, fresh and the bathroom superb.Really love the polished concrete features of the rooms here, also amazed as to how cool the room stayed, never bothered with aircon. WiFi is pretty fast, and breakfast OK.
Apart from the complete lack of English of some of the staff, and the difficulty getting in the know moto drivers, i really rated this place- quietish for PP, friendly staff, and no rent a girlfriend vibe...

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laflafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

I just wanted to make everyone aware of a scam that the Frangipani Villas are doing now that they have another property. I booked the Frangipani Villas-60s for the first week or January, with the intention of perhaps staying the full month if the property lived up to the reviews (which read a bit too much like their ads).
My reservation was confirmed via e-mail.
Two weeks later, I received a bulk email from Frangipani wishing happy holidays. At the end, the email mentioned a new property, the Frangipani Hotel-90s that they just opened. This appears to be pretty far south in Phnom Penh and is not near the Villas.
Just to be certain, I wrote to confirm that I was booked in the Villas and was told that they were already full, so I would be staying in the new hotel.
It was perfectly clear from my emails (sent to frangipani60s@gmail.com) and the responses I received ("We would like to offer you a special rate of $30/night to stay at our Frangipani Villa from 3 Jan 09") that I had booked the Frangipani Villas. And, by the way, $30 is the rate listed on their website and not in any way "special".
So, it appears that the company is using the reputation of their Villas, which has only about 12 rooms, in order to try to fill their new hotel, which seems quite out of the way.

Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Danimalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangipani60s, Owner at The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2009
We would like to clarify that all reviews posted in tripadivors and in other homepages were not done by Frangipani Villas and Frangipani Villas have two Villas (Frangipani Villa-60s and Frangipani Villa-90s) but the homepage of Frangipani Villas have not been updated yet and one more thing is that the e-mail address for booking, we use frangipani60s@gmail.com and frangipani60s@yahoo.com and and both properties are just 900 meter from each other ( Frangipani Villa-90s is located at #25, Street 71 which is just 900 meters from Frangipani Villa-60s). The management team wish the reviewer not come to conclude that most of the reviews done by Frangipani Villas.

The reservation can be confirmed after the guest agreed to stay either at Frangipani Villa-60s or at Frangipani Villa-60s and if the guest not agree we will not keep the booking.

To avoid any confusion in the near future, we will update our homepage and provide clear map of where Frangipani Villa-60s and Frangipani Villa-90s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.6 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#5 of 269 in Phnom Penh
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residia at Silvertown
Residia at Silvertown
#112 of 269 in Phnom Penh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,492 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
River Home Boutique Hotel
River Home Boutique Hotel
#82 of 269 in Phnom Penh
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel

Property: The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Address: 71 #25, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Villa-90s Hotel is a 1990s villa restored in the style 1960’s Cambodia architecture with some contemporary touches. The hotel provides suite, studio, double and twin room accommodation. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings are available on the roof top terrace and on a shady first floor balcony. Food and drinks are served throughout the day in the shady restaurant immediately adjacent to a well designed and extensively planted garden. The hotel is located in southern central Phnom Penh a short tuk-tuk ride from the city’s popular Tuol Tom Poung Market (Russian Market) and providing ready access to other sites throughout the city. A mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM are two minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing