We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet amongst the madness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice during our 3 week trip in Cambodia.I loved it .The hotel is in a quiet area away from all the madness that is Phnom Penh.The staff were very friendly and advised us to take a tuk tuk driver from the hotel to see all the sights, this saved us $75 on the hotel tour price!!! Mr T as i called him was great for $25 we saw everything, he treated us really well as obviously hoped you would use him for your transport in PP .The layout of the hotel is beautiful, rooms spacious and comfortable, plenty of hot water.Breakfast was to order with a menu sheet you tick for your choices.For $30 a night you cant go wrong.A tuk tuk into the heart of PP is needed $3 each way .Go to the Frangipanni sky bar hotel for cocktails at sun downers very close to the water front excellent views!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinners68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We started our trip in Cambodia with a 2 days stop at this hotel.
Good services, really friendly help with prety nice room: clean, hot water (you have to find the right moment but "cold" water is medium hot days.
Regarding to other hôtels during our trip, we really enjoy that one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with spacious clean rooms and lovely friendly staff. It has a lovely little garden. No swimming pool in this hotel but you can use the pool and a great spa at their sister hotel.
The location is ok but not great. Close to Russian market.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As soon as you come in off the street to the courtyard / dining area leading to reception, the greenery and shade provides a welcome respite from the hubbub of Phnom Penh's streets. The hotel has a reasonably modern feel, and the rooms were comfortable, of a good size and with a practical fit-out. At $39 per night for a twin room, including a good breakfast, WiFi and bikes (did the job, but you wouldn't want to have to go too far on them), this is a good value option. Apart from a recurring problem with the light in our bathroom, the friendly staff were helpful and responsive.
Although this property doesn't have a pool, apparently you are able to make use of the pool at other Frangipani hotels around PP (but I can't confirm this as we didn't take advantage of this). Location-wise, although a little south of the centre (in the vicinity of the intersection of Monivong and Mao Tse Toung boulevards), there are always tuk-tuks out the front of the hotel, and it is only a short trip to the palace, riverside, etc.
Overall, this is a hotel that I would happily recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable, well-priced option that allows you to readily explore the sights of Phnom Penh and happily retreat to when you need to rest and recharge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been twice to the rooftop but did not sleep there.
The view is amazing at night. They have good music but bad speakers.
But... The view is so amazing that you forget details...
Staff is nice but no more.
Probably they need a good manager and thid place can be THE ONE!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PavlovMada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff were helpful. But for $81 a night i found this place overr piced and punching well above its weight. The hotel has a half finished feel about it: the fixtures and fittings in the rooms are cheap and already showing signs of wear. I tried to have a bath but the water drained away almost as long as quickly as i could fill it. At 10pm it took 20 minutes for the water to eventually run hot. The rooms aircon turned itself off repeatedly during the night. The price for taxis, and tuk tuks are almost double much the average price e.g a taxi from the airport is $9. From this hotel it is $15. Maybe this is to be expected from a luxury hotel. But this is not such a place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I admit that the hotel is nice, has a nice location beside the palace and has a nice rooftop patio. My son enjoyed the pool and I liked ordering food while there.

But it's important to me that my hotel looks out for my best interests and helps me not get scammed, rather than take advantage of the fact that Im a tourist and helps to make sure I am scammed - huge.

I asked about the location of a couple of places and the receptionist was quick to offer a very convenient hotel taxi. Wen I asked the price, she said $45 to take me to 3 locations!! This is outrageous. It is only worth $15 (at least thats what other tourists have paid and im sure even that is ridiculous compared to what cambodian people pay!!) so I paid that to a tuk tuk by the river.

However, the next day I had to leave an get to the bus station early in the morning and decided to give it another go. For literally a 5 minute taxi drive, I was quoted $15 - again, it is only worth less than $3 with the currency exchange. I have travelled all over SE Asia and while there are many things to love in Cambodia, I found this country the worst for jacking up the prices for westerners. Hotels that help rip me off are not worth the pretty views IMO.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 275 in Phnom Penh
877 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 275 in Phnom Penh
2,570 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#78 of 275 in Phnom Penh
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 275 in Phnom Penh
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel

Address: 71 #25, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Villa-90s Hotel is a 1990s villa restored in the style 1960’s Cambodia architecture with some contemporary touches. The hotel provides suite, studio, double and twin room accommodation. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings are available on the roof top terrace and on a shady first floor balcony. Food and drinks are served throughout the day in the shady restaurant immediately adjacent to a well designed and extensively planted garden. The hotel is located in southern central Phnom Penh a short tuk-tuk ride from the city’s popular Tuol Tom Poung Market (Russian Market) and providing ready access to other sites throughout the city. A mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM are two minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing