We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious and calming”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Great value hotel with a relaxing atmosphere the minute you walk in. The gardens and pool area is well designed to give u a great sense of peace in a jarring city that is Phnom Penh. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large. We had a king bed, a bunk bed and a single bed in our room. There's even a little private outdoor area with decked chairs. Free wifi and internet equipped computers at the front were also useful. For the price I feel like it was a bargain. Would definitely stay here again if I ever revisit Phnom Penh but need to remember to book in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 888 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

This is a great little "simple" hotel in a central area of Phnom Penh.

The Good:
Near everything and very walkable. The pool area is really nice and relaxing. It feels like an Oasis in such a busy part of the city--a definite escape from sightseeing for a couple of hours. Rooms are simply, but well designed and spacious. Breakfast was good and it is overall a good value. Someone else mentioned the security and access issue...The Prime Minister just completed a massive house (that he should be ashamed of but I digress...) right behind the hotel and so there is a little security gate. Some of the guards are reasonable, some aren't. just like life. Occasionally they won't let a cab in and they will never let a tuk tuk in. I did not really find this to be an issue at all; the walk to the gate was maybe...50 yards? max? also made me feel safer as a solo traveller. Finally the service was very good.

The "enh":
The hotel is showing signs of wear; the rooms are getting "tired" as is some of the furniture (lounge chairs) and pool equipment. The towels they give you at the pool, for example, are completely mildewed. And the bathrooms (at least in the 2 rooms i stayed in) could really use some refreshening. They have a real mosquito problem on the property that seems as though it would be easy enough to remediate with a little effort. The first room they checked me into was filled with mosquitos. I complained and they switched me to another room which was completely moe-free. Not sure what happened in that particular (first) room, but they were getting in from somewhere. The staff was super nice about it, but wanted me to leave for a couple of hours while they just gassed the place. um, i'd rather not sleep in a room that had just been mosquito bombed!

Overall, i enjoyed my stay and might stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seeseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The Kabiki was beautiful and I loved it. This was my favorite place to stay in Cambodia and I would love to stay there again. The rooms were lovely, big comfy beds, great air con, very clean. Breakfast by the pool was peaceful and yummy! The pool and garden area was just beautiful, it felt like I was on a tropical island, not in a busy city!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaceyErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Loved this place. Unfortunately we only stayed one night!!
Family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 7 and 9). Huge room was a joy. Agree with the other reviewers that the bathroom wasn't particularly lush, but it certainly was clean and more than adequate. This is such a small thing when looking at the big picture of a lovely hotel. The best thing about this place is the large enclosed grounds and lovely pool area. It had a relaxed tropical resort feeling. We loved chilling out by the book and munching on the food and drinks from the bar. There are always tuk tuks at the main gate so it is very easy and cheap to get around. Would love to go back to this place and spend some extra days. LOVED phnom penh and LOVED Kabiki.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoToIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabikiPp, Management at The Kabiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2009

Thank you very much for this feedback. The maintenance team is now working their way out to re apply the white cements that ran out of the tiles, which looked like dark spots.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Beautiful hotel in the center of Phnom Penh. It's on walking distance of the Independance Monument. The reception is in a historical villa, and the rooms are set up in a row in a lush garden at the back of the villa. The big plus of the Kabiki is the lush garden and the pool. The pool is filled with salted water. We made a reservation for a family room, which costed 75$ for a night. Breakfast for all 5 was included. We could not complain about the breakfast, even tough we had the same thing all 3 mornings; coffe/tea a passionfruit juice, 3 little breads and an egg or omelet. The room was well equipped with 2 double beds and bunkbeds. So all together you can easily sleep in this room with 6 people. The bathroom was OK too, but it looked a little bit tired already. There were some black spots and a little bit musty smell. This can be better. Also the shower came down so now and then, because it didn't fitt in the holder.
These small things can be fixed and then you have the perfect hotel for family's.
One night we ate at the hotel, in the restaurant near the pool. Food was very tasty, but ridiculous overpriced.
If you make a reservation, you don't have to pay. That's very friendly of the owners. Once you are there you just pay everything on the spot.
They very young people working here are very friendly too.
You can pay with a creditcard in the Kabiki.
Free wifi was available, though a little bit slow.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We've previously stayed at the Himawari but needed to trim the budget this visit. I was very pleased with the Kabiki. The location is great, it's peaceful, green and the staff are very friendly. It is ideal for families. One reviewer commented about walking down a dark road - we found the road well lit. We stayed in room 11 which is a garden room. Bathroom modern, room simple but stylish. Tea/coffee and kettle provided which was a bonus. My daughter (aged 6) loved the bunk beds in the room. Comments about the finish in the rooms are valid - the shower screen doesn't quite fit right, things aren't quite level but this is a minor complaint. Pool and surrounding area are lovely. Breakfast is a little lacking in variety, but there's enough of it. Would we stay again? Definitely yes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harebells2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed at the Kabiki for two nights in October, upon arrival we were not met by anyone and felt a little uncomfortable until I discovered the reception. Booking in was ok and the room was very good. Fridge was not working and dispite requesting a new one or a repair, this did not happen. Overall feel of the place was not what I expected and I have to say I was not overjoyed with the hotel. Great pool despite my grumbles but despite the boutique look of the place it had the feel of a sterile business hotel. Not my cup of tea.
Sorry Kabiki you could do better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-WALES-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#10 of 278 in Phnom Penh
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#15 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $51 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing